Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 26

Thread: Strange NOF11 problem, .getting .html files duplicated as .js files

  1. #11
    Senior Member chuckj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    www.beyondfusion.com - Florida
    Posts
    1,302

    Default

    Are you publishing the site using the Semantic XHTML option?

    Publishing this way generates a .js file for each page in the site, named the same as the corresponding HTML page.
    Chuck Joslin
    www.BeyondFusion.com
    PHP & MySQL development with Fusion
    Fusion support for AllWebMenus (Likno) Contact me for custom AWM menus for your sites.
    Tutorials and Forums

  2. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    352

    Default

    You might also get them if you've used any jQuery as well. In NetObjects that comes from using MLRs (Multi Layout Regions) for instance.

    I guess you need to narrow down what you've added just before you started getting .js files appearing?

  3. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    352

    Default

    The bottom line as I said right in the beginning is that you don't need to worry as the code you pasted (in this case) is not bad and won't wreck your website, nor should any of your visitors see them.

  4. #14
    Shannell
    Guest

    Default Re: Strange NOF11 problem, .getting .html files duplicated as .jsfiles

    No its set to dynamic page layout.

    the thing is it seems any site I open now and do a publish gets this
    problem.
    Ive only done 2 so far but Ill try some more and see what happens.


    On 30-Nov-10 2:04 PM, chuckj wrote:
    > Are you publishing the site using the Semantic XHTML option?
    >
    > Publishing this way generates a .js file for each page in the site,
    > named the same as the corresponding HTML page.
    >
    >
    >
    > CHUCK JOSLIN
    > www.BeyondFusion.com
    > PHP& MySQL development with Fusion
    > Official Fusion support for AllWebMenus (Likno Software)
    > Tutorials and Forums



  5. #15
    Shannell
    Guest

    Default Re: Strange NOF11 problem, .getting .html files duplicated as .jsfiles

    ok Ive gone and checked a couple of sites, it seems this has been
    happening for a while, I just didnt realise it because I didnt update
    the main index.php file on the earlier sites, I checked the html folders
    and theres a few .js files in there for the pages that I did make
    changes to.
    Updating the index.php file on my server will cause the browser to open
    the .js file, which I do understand how to fix using the .htaccess file,
    and this was how I discovered this problem.
    I understand you say these files arent a problem but Id really prefer
    not to have all the extra files cluttering up the directores if it can
    be done.

    All these sites have no tick in the google analytics box, they just have
    the script in the master border.



    On 30-Nov-10 2:04 PM, chuckj wrote:
    > Are you publishing the site using the Semantic XHTML option?
    >
    > Publishing this way generates a .js file for each page in the site,
    > named the same as the corresponding HTML page.
    >
    >
    >
    > CHUCK JOSLIN
    > www.BeyondFusion.com
    > PHP& MySQL development with Fusion
    > Official Fusion support for AllWebMenus (Likno Software)
    > Tutorials and Forums



  6. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    352

    Default

    I don't think you're reading all the posts here. As I said, we are using NetObjects forums and I think you're missing some posts when you're replying here.

    Did you delete the .js files off the server using FileZilla (or similar external FTP) and then republish out of NetObjects? Do you still get the .js files.

    As I also said in a previous post, have you added anything like MLRs (Multi Layout Regions) or similar type of new things in NetObjects 11 as that uses jQuery and will also need to publish a .js file for those as well.

    The fact your hosting allows .js files to open in preference to .php or htm/.html is not normal at all! I'd be speaking to your web host if that is the default!

  7. #17
    Twayne
    Guest

    Default Re: Strange NOF11 problem, .getting .html files duplicated as .js files

    In news:id1isr$2pp$1@DailyPlanet.news.netobjects.com,
    Shannell <ss@chargin.org> typed:
    > Well I did fix that by adding a .htaccess file with
    > DirectoryIndex index.php
    >
    > But I dont want all these .js files uploaded, Im not sure
    > what to do next..??
    > What does this code refer to? Seems the same code every
    > time.
    > // Begin Actions
    > function F_doLoaded() {
    > document.main = new F_cMain();
    > document.objectModel = new Object();
    > F_OM('Layout','LayoutLYR', 'doc', '', new Array());
    > F_OM('' , 'LYR', 'img', 'Layout',null,'',0);
    >
    > F_pageLoaded('Layout');
    > }
    >
    > $(document).ready( function() {
    > F_onLoaded();
    > });
    > // End Actions
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    >
    > On 30-Nov-10 11:17 AM, Technology Ideas wrote:
    >> The .js files are absolutely for Google Analytics. NetObjects generates
    >> them for any external links you have
    >> on each of your NetObjects page so it can track them.
    >>
    >> js files should never be a priority over .php .htm or
    >> .html files for your visitors when opening links or pages
    >> (unless you put a link directly to index.js)
    >>
    >> If it is, speak to your web host or check your computer as
    >> it is not normal behaviour of -any- browser to open
    >> index.js as a priority over index.php / index.htm or
    >> index.html. Regards,
    >> Andrew Baker | http://www.technologyideas.com.au
    >> Australia


    Well, here's the javascript for Google Analytics:
    <!-- Analytics Code Start -->
    <script type="text/javascript">
    var gaJsHost = (("https:" == document.location.protocol) ? "https://ssl." :
    "http://www.");
    document.write(unescape("%3Cscript src='" + gaJsHost +
    "google-analytics.com/ga.js' type='text/javascript'%3E%3C/script%3E"));
    </script>
    <script type="text/javascript">
    var pageTracker = _gat._getTracker("$VARIABLE(GoogleAnalyticsID)");
    pageTracker._initData();
    pageTracker._trackPageview();
    </script>
    <!-- Analytics Code End -->

    There is an older code they don't want used anymore, but it's similar to
    this more recent code. .js is javascript (and not Java, as was asked - 2
    different animals).

    It's only one entry for a user to delete the UA number from in order to see
    if that code goes away. And it's easy enough to even delete it temporarily
    from one page, to see what happens. In one very short page of my own site,
    there are 4 javascripts so they are used for a lot more than simple
    analytics work unless it's not google analytics but something else.

    There IS a separate .js file with EACH .html file, BTW. These are
    NECESSARY files for analytics! It is also for google analytics and looks
    like:
    // Begin Analytics
    $(document).ready( function() {
    $('#Text2099Link2').bind('click', function() {
    pageTracker._trackPageview('/outgoing/aspca.org'); } );
    $('#Text2099Link3').bind('click', function() {
    pageTracker._trackPageview('/outgoing/www.aspca.org/site/PageServer?pagename=cruelty_faq#whatiscruel');
    } );
    $('#Text2099Link4').bind('click', function() {
    pageTracker._trackPageview('/outgoing/www.fbi.gov'); } );
    $('#Text2099Link5').bind('click', function() {
    pageTracker._trackPageview('/outgoing/www.aspca.org/fight-animal-cruelty/report-animal-cruelty.html');
    } );
    $('#Text2099Link6').bind('click', function() {
    pageTracker._trackPageview('/outgoing/www.hsus.org/'); } );
    $('#Text2099Link7').bind('click', function() {
    pageTracker._trackPageview('/outgoing/www.aspca.org'); } );
    $('#Text2099Link8').bind('click', function() {
    pageTracker._trackPageview('/outgoing/www.agmkt.state.ny.us/AI/AGM_ART_26.pdf');
    } );
    });
    // End Analytics

    NONE of them appear to be creating a new page as the OPs code seems to show.
    I can't find anything in mine that looks like the OPs code but that might
    only mean he's using something I am not. About all that's used in that site
    is a ccouple image galleries and a few artcles/news things.

    Hmm, "actions": Perhaps that's something to do with adding "actions" in the
    Properties somewhere. If not, I'd be concerned because it seems to be
    creating a NEW page! If the code isn't supposed to do that, someone may have
    hacked the site. Time to check the site logs to see what's going on there.

    HTH,

    Twayne`



  8. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    8

    Default

    In reply to a few comments above-

    yes I did delete the js files and they just reappear on publish.

    I dont know why you would think its to do with GA, the code talks about actions, which is a NOF thing, I havent used any actions for years.

    I just made a fresh blank site with 1 empty page and uploaded that, no js files appeared, but all the existing sites Ive tried editing have created a pagename.js file for each page i update.

    Im still confused..

  9. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    352

    Default

    If you are the previous Shannell that was posting, but you are now called Chargin, now that you are a member and can see all the posts, please read through them all as I believe your question has been answered.

    Simply, it's either that you have GA activated via NetObjects, you are using Semantic XHTML settings in NetObjects or you are using NetObjects jQuery built-in features such as MLRs. None of which you should be concerned with anyway, as has also be said. I don't understand your issue with them. As has also been said, there is no code in them to suggest it is anything bad, and if they match your page names, it is highly likely it is NetObjects creating them, so again, don't worry about them.

    If for some reason you do have an issue with them, then you need to disable Google Analytics, don't use Semantic XHTML settings in NetObjects and remove all uses of jQuery such as MLRs. If you still have a problem with your hosting open .js files in priority to .php and .html/.htm files, then talk to your web host as that is clearly not normal behaviour.

  10. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    8

    Default

    yes I registered on the forum, I was the OP.
    As I stated in an earlier reply, I dont have GA in the NetObjects options, Im using the masterborder for the code.
    Im using dynamic html setting
    not sure about jquery, is that some sort of database connection? these are pretty simple sites, nothing like that I know of.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •