Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: how to set the Pop-up window links to open in the opener window

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default how to set the Pop-up window links to open in the opener window

    Hello and a happy new year!

    I have a website created in netobjects 11 and i have a popup window called when my visitor is clicking on a picture.
    The pop-up has hotspots created as links, because it is a picture and the visitor has to click on certain areas of it, and i do not know how to create links other that this.

    My question is how to set the links opening in the main window, as i tried all the options _parent,_self,etc and all of them at best opened up a new browser window to open the link.

    I tried also scripting, but i am a noob at javascript, but the area href tag can't be modified.

    Thank you,
    Sebastian

  2. #2
    Ian
    Guest

    Default Re: how to set the Pop-up window links to open in the opener window

    On 01/03/2011 22:58, tipul01 wrote:
    > Hello and a happy new year!
    >
    > I have a website created in netobjects 11 and i have a popup window
    > called when my visitor is clicking on a picture.
    > The pop-up has hotspots created as links, because it is a picture and
    > the visitor has to click on certain areas of it, and i do not know how
    > to create links other that this.
    >
    > My question is how to set the links opening in the main window, as i
    > tried all the options _parent,_self,etc and all of them at best opened
    > up a new browser window to open the link.
    >
    > I tried also scripting, but i am a noob at javascript, but the area
    > href tag can't be modified.
    >
    > Thank you,
    > Sebastian
    >
    >

    Somewhere there, in that link window you should have the option to open
    as a popup. You then just set the parameters of the pop up as you want.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Thank you for the response, but i don't have a problem with opening the links as popups, i set that option.

    I want the links FROM the popup window to open in the main window that called the popup window in the first place.

    Thank you,
    Sebastian

  4. #4
    Senior Member gotFusion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    www.gotHosting.biz
    Posts
    4,529

    Default

    That would be external to what the Fusion product can accomplish with its internal components. Take a look at this 3rd party script and see if it is what you want. http://www.jsmadeeasy.com/javascript...2/template.htm

    This tutorial will go over how to insert external scripts into Fusion: http://www.gotfusion.com/tutorials/tut.cfm?itemID=4068
    NetObjects Fusion Cloud Linux enabled Web Hosting, support + training starts at $14.95
    NetObjects Fusion web Hosting and support + ASP + PHP + ColdFusion + MySQL + MS SQL
    FREE NetObjects Fusion Support & training comes with all web hosting accounts
    NetObjects Fusion Web Hosting: http://www.gotHosting.biz

  5. #5
    Twayne
    Guest

    Default Re: how to set the Pop-up window links to open in the opener window

    In news:ifuqiq$3r9$2@DailyPlanet.news.netobjects.com,
    Ian <ianh@electramart.com> typed:
    > On 01/03/2011 22:58, tipul01 wrote:
    >> Hello and a happy new year!
    >>
    >> I have a website created in netobjects 11 and i have a
    >> popup window called when my visitor is clicking on a
    >> picture. The pop-up has hotspots created as links, because it is a
    >> picture and the visitor has to click on certain areas of
    >> it, and i do not know how to create links other that this.
    >>
    >> My question is how to set the links opening in the main
    >> window, as i tried all the options _parent,_self,etc and
    >> all of them at best opened up a new browser window to open
    >> the link. I tried also scripting, but i am a noob at javascript, but
    >> the area href tag can't be modified.
    >>
    >> Thank you,
    >> Sebastian
    >>
    >>

    > Somewhere there, in that link window you should have the
    > option to open as a popup. You then just set the parameters
    > of the pop up as you want.


    I think you have received good advice and I'd like to add something more.

    Many people do not allow javascript to run on their computers. They will
    disable of uninstall it to keep it from functioning.
    Popups likewise are even more likely to be blocked on experienced users'
    machines due to Security issues, pop-unders, and just plain unexpected
    popups and malicious popups. It would be better to just link a new page
    instead of using popups IMO.

    Personally when I write web sites, I avoid javascript in any place other
    than what NOF creates on its own, which is quite safe and provides some
    useful features. They are such that, if a user doesn't allow js, the page
    still works just fine for them; it's not necessary in order to use any of
    the pages; you simply don't get flyout menues, things like that which can be
    done without. So you should be careful to make sure your site will run for a
    visitor that doesn't allow js and/or popups.

    Just my opinion of course, and no wish to rain on your parade. You're
    certainly entitled to do whatever you please and like; just thought I'd
    mention the above as a lot of new starters aren't aware of same. Google
    Analytics, free, can provide you with some great information about your site
    and its statistics.

    HTH,

    Twayne`



  6. #6
    Senior Member Andy Hoyt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    134

    Default

    Why don't you just place that image on your page of choice, chop it up with your hotspots, link 'em, and Bob's your uncle
    Only the Blue Roads

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Thank you for your responses.

    I tried using javascripts but from what i have read and experienced, i have to call the javascript functions inside the tag, as of area href="javascript:targentopener(x,y)", etc. But the hotspot link that i created cannot be modified, it has a dark grey background in the html edit window.

    i use hotspots because i need that zone to be transparent, instead i would have used a rectangle, or sort, but i do not know how to make it have no fill colour. a simple <a href> tag would not do it, as i need the area of the picture act as a link, not just a single point, or text. Is there a way to modify the code that netobjects writes? i can only write before or after the html tag...

    I use the popup because that is the requirement, if it were up to me, yes, i would have just opened the picutre in the main window, but its like a map that needs to click on diferent areas of the globe...

    Thank you for your time,
    Sebastian

  8. #8
    Senior Member Andy Hoyt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    134

    Default

    You can do all you want just as I mentioned in the earlier post. See attached photo and study Fusion.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Untitled-TrueCol&#11.jpg 
Views:	284 
Size:	87.3 KB 
ID:	688
    Only the Blue Roads

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •