Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Using a formmail.pl with Fusion 8

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    8

    Default Using a formmail.pl with Fusion 8

    I am using a formmail.pl and it works like a charm. However, I want to make some field, required field and i just don't know how to do it. Can anyone help me? Is it through the Form Settings or through the Forms Edit Field Properties?

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Now... If I could get someone to help me out with a frommail.pl form I woudl be very happy!!!

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Ok - I know this has nothing to do with the subject but I can't seem to get any help other wise. So... here it goes....
    I have successfully created a form on one of my sites using formmail.pl. It works beautifully until now the client has asked me to make some fields a required field -you know... such us requiring that they at least provide their email address in order to submit the form. Any how... I just don't know how to do it - does any one know? I am using Fusion 8 (I know... stop laughing, I haven't upgraded yet). Please help!

  4. #4
    Senior Member gotFusion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    www.gotHosting.biz
    Posts
    4,526

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by vivian View Post
    Ok - I know this has nothing to do with the subject but I can't seem to get any help other wise. So... here it goes....
    I've moved your question back with your original one.

    Here is a couple URLs that may help you:

    http://www.scriptarchive.com/readme/....html#required

    http://www.nethere.com/support/webho....html#required
    NetObjects Fusion Cloud Linux enabled Web Hosting, support + training starts at $14.95
    NetObjects Fusion web Hosting and support + ASP + PHP + ColdFusion + MySQL + MS SQL
    FREE NetObjects Fusion Support & training comes with all web hosting accounts
    NetObjects Fusion Web Hosting: http://www.gotHosting.biz

  5. #5
    Max
    Guest

    Default Re: Publishing and Arranging Files by Site Structure

    I don't use formmail myself, but you can do it by changing the
    configuration of the script. Take a look at the 'Field: required' and
    ''Field: missing_fields_redirect' here:
    http://www.scriptarchive.com/readme/....html#required
    http://www.scriptarchive.com/readme/...ields_redirect

    It would be a good idea to add text to the form in NOF to say that the
    field is mandatory.

    I suggest starting a new thread if you need further help...

    Max

    ----
    vivian wrote:
    Ok - I know this has nothing to do with the subject but I can't seem to
    get any help other wise. So... here it goes....
    I have successfully created a form on one of my sites using
    formmail.pl. It works beautifully until now the client has asked me to
    make some fields a required field -you know... such us requiring that
    they at least provide their email address in order to submit the form.
    Any how... I just don't know how to do it - does any one know? I am
    using Fusion 8 (I know... stop laughing, I haven't upgraded yet). Please
    help!




  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    8

    Default Thank you all!

    I will give it a try

  7. #7
    Senior Member gotFusion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    www.gotHosting.biz
    Posts
    4,526

    Default

    You just need to add a hidden field as described in the formmail manual.

    To add a hidden field in Fusion you click on the settings button on the form element you set to hold the form (table, layout region, text box, or page layout), press the + button and add the name and value.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	hiddenField..gif 
Views:	142 
Size:	5.0 KB 
ID:	697
    NetObjects Fusion Cloud Linux enabled Web Hosting, support + training starts at $14.95
    NetObjects Fusion web Hosting and support + ASP + PHP + ColdFusion + MySQL + MS SQL
    FREE NetObjects Fusion Support & training comes with all web hosting accounts
    NetObjects Fusion Web Hosting: http://www.gotHosting.biz

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Ok.. Thank you Max!!! It works! here's my problem now... I got it to direct my result to a page I redirect page I made letting the customer know that they need to fill in the appropriate information with a back button to take them back to the form!! looks great - works good. However, how do I tell it to not redirect the customer if they have gone back and filled in the information and to actually send me the form? see what I wrote below:

    <input type=hidden name="required" value="name,email"><input type=hidden name="missing_fields_redirect" value="http://www.mydomain.htm">

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Yeah, I did that to include the subject, redirect and recipient names and values. But.. when I go to add the name required and value email for example - if the email is not filled in it takes me to an empty form with a title at the top that says that the email field must be filled. It's great, but it doesn't provide a back button or any way to go back to the form to fill in the information. Also it also includes the whole form fields below that title.

  10. #10
    Senior Member gotFusion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    www.gotHosting.biz
    Posts
    4,526

    Default

    Change mydomain.htm to the actual URL of the form page for that value
    NetObjects Fusion Cloud Linux enabled Web Hosting, support + training starts at $14.95
    NetObjects Fusion web Hosting and support + ASP + PHP + ColdFusion + MySQL + MS SQL
    FREE NetObjects Fusion Support & training comes with all web hosting accounts
    NetObjects Fusion Web Hosting: http://www.gotHosting.biz

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •