Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: How many pages is too many?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    9

    Default How many pages is too many?

    I am working on a site that currently has about 70 pages. When it is done it will have upwards of 450 pages. It seems every time I ad a page Netobjects gets slower and slower. I am running NetObjects Fusion 11 on a Windows 7 Home Premium (64 bit version) with 4 gig of ram on an AMD Athlon P320 Dual Core Processor 2.1 Ghz

    I realize that upload and preview would get slower as I ad pages but why would adding pages slow down the core program to the point where I can type about 10 words and it takes 3 seconds to see them pop up? If this is going to be an ongoing process I may have to abandon NOF forever. I have been using it since version 2 came out and have never had any problems like this. Of course I have never had a website with more than 50 pages before.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated. BTW- I am running the program as admin with nothing but a web browser running with it.

  2. #2
    Senior Member gotFusion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    www.gotHosting.biz
    Posts
    4,529

    Default

    Slow typing echo has been traced to too many local fonts installed (and other things but too many installed fonts is the typical cause). If you have a bazillion fonts installed go through your font list and remove the ones you will not use.

    As to the software becoming slow with additional pages. The use of components is the single biggest problem with an overall slow down. As you increase the size of the site project you may need to insert 3rd party scripts that do the same thing in place of your components.

    Any site over 100-150 static pages should be served from a database. Back when Fusion 4 was released I took a site with 900+ pages into a database and cut it down to under 10 display pages and 30 or so admin pages. Once you get there you no longer use Fusion to maintain the site, you use a web browser interface to login and add/edit content.
    NetObjects Fusion Cloud Linux enabled Web Hosting, support + training starts at $14.95
    NetObjects Fusion web Hosting and support + ASP + PHP + ColdFusion + MySQL + MS SQL
    FREE NetObjects Fusion Support & training comes with all web hosting accounts
    NetObjects Fusion Web Hosting: http://www.gotHosting.biz

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    9

    Default

    gotFusion,
    Thanks for the reply. I just typed an entire reply and lost it for some reason. I will try and reconstruct my reply:
    I have only about 25 additional fonts installed above and beyond what comes with windows. I am using a menu drop down but it is the same on every page so far. Is that considered to be separate components when it is on different pages? Could that be what is slowing down the program? If so, that is a MAJOR issue for me. I do not know how to create databases and call them for the info. I have never had any reason to do so up until this point. Do I need to abandon all hope and learn SQL and PHP? I just got through learning how CSS and XHTML work together so if I learn SQL and PHP all I will need is a text editor?

  4. #4
    Senior Member gotFusion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    www.gotHosting.biz
    Posts
    4,529

    Default

    You do not have to use a database, you can continue to use static pages but the larger the site the slower Fusion "may" run. Fusion is a database program that generates html The more information it needs to process to generate web pages the longer it takes to load and perform its tasks.

    Can you post a URL of the site you are working on?
    NetObjects Fusion Cloud Linux enabled Web Hosting, support + training starts at $14.95
    NetObjects Fusion web Hosting and support + ASP + PHP + ColdFusion + MySQL + MS SQL
    FREE NetObjects Fusion Support & training comes with all web hosting accounts
    NetObjects Fusion Web Hosting: http://www.gotHosting.biz

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    9

    Default

    gotFusion,

    Thanks again for your reply. Unfortunately I cannot post a URL of the site as it is far from any viewable form, so it would not do much good. But just as an example, I cannot stand the web calendar included with 11 and I have yet to find one that functions well enough to insert into the site (that includes Google's calendar as it is not professional looking to have a Google calendar on a production site) so, what I did was create a page for each month with anchors on the different dates with a main page with table grid calendar linking to the appropriate anchor date. Yes, that looks bad and it will be changed as soon as I find the appropriate calendar scripting. But that added 12 pages to the overall site by itself.

    I guess I am having a difficult time understanding why more pages slows down the program if nothing is being generated until a preview or local publish. That was one of the great things about NOF that I have loved since Ver 2. With the inline preview frame no operations are actually being used so the drop down menu is not visible, just the initial button. It seems to me that yes, it would be slow upon generation of the scripts and codes but not in the design process. I make it a point to remove unused assets on a regular basis so that they do not bog the system down.

    I guess I will just deal with the slowness until I learn SQL/PHP

    On a separate note, is there a way to remove all of the NOF used in the code generation? I removed the meta tag but there is still ".nof_formsHandler_input_button" and the like in the CSS it generates. I would love to have a way to set these so that the nof stuff does not show. To me that is an advertisement for NOF and if I am paying for it I should have the ability to not advertise for them. Know what I mean? I would also like to be able to remove the underscores from the CSS because it just looks bad to me. Am I asking for too much? I have paid well over $900 for NOF upgrades over the years. I just want it to do what I want it to do.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Does no one know how to change the output code to not have NOF all through it?

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    70

    Default

    Most of my sites are over 200 or so, here is the absolute worst, (this is after I cut it down by 1500 pages) I have since split it up, but since I updated from NOF7 8-9-10-11 I have never gotten them all back online. 7 seemed to be the best match for me. But I'm also trying to spiffy it up a bit... Just to note NOF7 just loaded the FamilyTree.nod site in about 20 seconds, switching from site to page is about 25 seconds... I wouldn't want to try to publish it though, there are a lot of data pages (about 120) that would be broke by now.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •