Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Different Browser Compatibility

Default Different Browser Compatibility

OK, so in addition to being my first post, I'm also a complete newbie when it comes to making a website so bear with me.

I've just created a website (not live yet) and it looks great in Chrome, Safari but not in Explorer 8. When published in Explorer it resizes everything and shifts it around. When published in Safari and Chrome it looks fine. When I preview in Explorer it looks fine.

I'm sure it's something simple to make sure it works on all browsers but I have no idea what I should do.

I have same issues with viewing one of my pages in Internet Explorer 8 and 9.

This page looks FINE in previews, which use IE 8 and IE 9 depending on which computer I use.

This page looks FINE in published Firefox and Sea Monkey.

But the page blows up -- and would gag a maggot it's so bad -- when IE 8 and IE 9 try to display it on the Internet.

I have discovered that if I use Compatibility View in IE 8 and IE 9, the page will display correctly.

Is this a solution?

I say NO. I say NO because this page worked fine with NOF 8 in all these browsers, but the problem began with NOF 12. And I cannot rely on my readers to think of using Compatibility View just for me. Beside, Compatibility View is designed for "older browsers," such as IE 6 and IE 7, not for IE 8 and IE 9.

I started a thread on this on August 24, but have had no helpful replies.

If you have received helpful replies, please share!
    Last edited by danag17; 08-27-2011 at 01:59 AM.

I have found similar observations from other NOF users. Maybe we will get help from the senior members!

yes it is not a big issue. it is simple and common css problem and can be solved by adding some additional tags for the different browsers. do not try to adjust the site according to old versions of browsers otherwise you may have problem with the new ones

Default Further explanation of compatibility issue