Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Page is not publishing correctly- forced to preview settings instead of site (URGENT)

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    11

    Default Page is not publishing correctly- forced to preview settings instead of site (URGENT)

    When I publish a page (called Projects) - which is a php page with lots of database elements, the publish mechanism gets confused and thinks I am trying to preview it. The resulting php code on the site contains lots of references to "file:///C: blah blah blah ...".

    for instance: (direct from the PUBLISHED SITE)
    <script type="text/javascript" src="file:///C:/Program Files (x86)/NetObjects/NetObjects Fusion 12.0/NetObjects System/rollover.js">
    </script>

    This can cause the php program to crash and burn (http error 500), or more benignly, just render the page without proper graphics elements.

    The last thing I recall doing before that is adding an image to the assets directory, then setting a button to point to that image.

    If I change the name of the page to "xProjects", the page gets published correctly, but when I set it back, it screws up again.

    Something is confusing the publishing mechanism just for this page.

    Please help, as this is a show-stopper on this project.

    addendum: This is a recently purchased copy of NOF 12 running on Windows 7.
    Last edited by dar7yl; 05-27-2011 at 04:14 AM. Reason: addendum

  2. #2
    Ian
    Guest

    Default Re: Page is not publishing correctly- forced to preview settings instead of site (URGENT)

    Are you using NOF to publish your site to the server? If so have you put the
    URL into the publishing panel when you do your FTP?

    Ian

    "dar7yl" wrote in message news:dar7yl.4udpsk@no-mx.forums.netobjects.com...


    When I publish a page (called Projects) - which is a php page with lots
    of database elements, the publish mechanism gets confused and thinks I
    am trying to preview it. The resulting php code on the site contains
    lots of references to "file:///C: blah blah blah ...".

    for instance: (direct from the PUBLISHED SITE)
    <script type="text/javascript" src="file:///C:/Program Files
    (x86)/NetObjects/NetObjects Fusion 12.0/NetObjects System/rollover.js">
    </script>

    This can cause the php program to crash and burn (http error 500), or
    more benignly, just render the page without proper graphics elements.

    The last thing I recall doing before that is adding an image to the
    assets directory, then setting a button to point to that image.

    If I change the name of the page to "xProjects", the page gets
    published correctly, but when I set it back, it screws up again.

    Something is confusing the publishing mechanism just for this page.

    Please help, as this is a show-stopper on this project.

    addendum: This is a recently purchased copy of NOF 12 running on
    Windows 7.


  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    11

    Default Re: Page is not publishing correctly- forced preview instead of site (URGENT

    Quote Originally Posted by Ian View Post
    Are you using NOF to publish your site to the server?
    Yes, obviously I am using NOF, or I wouldn't be having this problem. Is there any other alternative?

    Quote Originally Posted by Ian View Post
    ...have you put the URL into the publishing panel when you do your FTP?
    What do you mean, what URL into which publishing panel?

    I have had the site set up to publish onto the remote site, and it was working (almost) perfectly up until this problem appeared. It affects just this one page... all the other pages are published (almost) perfectly. Something happened to the configuration of the page that confuses the publishing machinery. I suspect it has something to do with asset management.
    Last edited by dar7yl; 05-27-2011 at 09:49 AM.

  4. #4
    Senior Member gotFusion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    www.gotHosting.biz
    Posts
    4,529

    Default

    You can run through the full export/import steps. This will typically clear up most issues.

    http://www.gotfusion.com/tutorials/tut.cfm?itemID=16

    http://www.gotfusion.com/tutorials/tut.cfm?itemID=17

    You will want to clean up your work folders then do a full site generation (all pages)

    http://www.gotfusion.com/tutorials/tut.cfm?itemID=4029
    NetObjects Fusion Cloud Linux enabled Web Hosting, support + training starts at $14.95
    NetObjects Fusion web Hosting and support + ASP + PHP + ColdFusion + MySQL + MS SQL
    FREE NetObjects Fusion Support & training comes with all web hosting accounts
    NetObjects Fusion Web Hosting: http://www.gotHosting.biz

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gotFusion View Post
    You can run through the full export/import steps. This will typically clear up most issues....
    Thanks for your reply. I will attempt to go through these processes.

    A few notes:

    1)
    The ONLY safe way to back up is to EXPORT AS A TEMPLATE
    Then what's the deal with the backup manager? Doesn't it work as advertized?

    2) What happens if I take a backup of the entire project directory? Can I reproduce the site from that?

    3) Have you seen the error I am describing before? What can be done to prevent it in the future? It has already occurred on two occasions. The solution you are describing doesn't solve the underlying problem.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •