Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: No longer able to publish to Earthlink

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    8

    Default No longer able to publish to Earthlink

    I am using an Earthlink branded version of Fusion 8 to publish an Earthlink hosted site. It has worked just fine for quite some time, but now I'm suddenly unable to connect. I can log on to our ftp space sucessfully using other programs, so I know the server name, passwords, etc. are working. Earthlink had no ideas other than to reinstall Fusion (which didn't help).

    Anyone else having this problem? Any ideas for a fix?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Senior Member gotFusion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    www.gotHosting.biz
    Posts
    4,529

    Default

    Have you toggled passive mode on/off on the publish view palette > advanced settings?

    That would be the first thing to try.
    NetObjects Fusion Cloud Linux enabled Web Hosting, support + training starts at $14.95
    NetObjects Fusion web Hosting and support + ASP + PHP + ColdFusion + MySQL + MS SQL
    FREE NetObjects Fusion Support & training comes with all web hosting accounts
    NetObjects Fusion Web Hosting: http://www.gotHosting.biz

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Yup, tried that. No luck.

  4. #4
    Senior Member gotFusion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    www.gotHosting.biz
    Posts
    4,529

    Default

    Do you get a successful connection from the "test" button?

    Do you see your remote file structure when you use the remote connect function?

    This is a tutorial for my Windows web hosting but it will give you the heads up on where these functions are located:

    http://www.gotfusion.com/tutorials/t...ID=4084#fusion
    NetObjects Fusion Cloud Linux enabled Web Hosting, support + training starts at $14.95
    NetObjects Fusion web Hosting and support + ASP + PHP + ColdFusion + MySQL + MS SQL
    FREE NetObjects Fusion Support & training comes with all web hosting accounts
    NetObjects Fusion Web Hosting: http://www.gotHosting.biz

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    8

    Default

    When I try the test button, I get the " Connection failed. Please make sure you've entered the correct attributes..." message. When I try the remote connect function, I immediately get a "Could not connect to ftp...." error message. At no point am I able to reach the remote file structure.

    Thanks for your all of your help so far, by the way.

  6. #6
    Senior Member gotFusion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    www.gotHosting.biz
    Posts
    4,529

    Default

    You must have a setting incorrect. Compare your working FTP client to the settings in Fusion. Check spelling (usually the reason for an issue).

    If you have the correct connection info you will connect.

    If all looks fine, check your local computer firewall and AV software to make sure that NetObejcts Fusion has permission to access the internet and is not blocked.
    NetObjects Fusion Cloud Linux enabled Web Hosting, support + training starts at $14.95
    NetObjects Fusion web Hosting and support + ASP + PHP + ColdFusion + MySQL + MS SQL
    FREE NetObjects Fusion Support & training comes with all web hosting accounts
    NetObjects Fusion Web Hosting: http://www.gotHosting.biz

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    8

    Default

    I'm certain that all of the settings are correct - they had been working fine and I didn't touch them - they just stopped working! I did verify that my (Norton) firewall settings were identical for Fusion and the other FTP program I have, which is still working fine. I also created a new Publish profile with the same settings, and that gave the same result.

    Puzzling...

  8. #8
    Senior Member gotFusion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    www.gotHosting.biz
    Posts
    4,529

    Default

    I've never seen a proprietary copy of Fusion 8 for Earthlink so I am sort of shooting in the dark now.

    Do you have tabs called web tools or control panel? If you do, those tabs have links from the product to web sites. See if you can get any of those to connect from Fusion to a web site.
    NetObjects Fusion Cloud Linux enabled Web Hosting, support + training starts at $14.95
    NetObjects Fusion web Hosting and support + ASP + PHP + ColdFusion + MySQL + MS SQL
    FREE NetObjects Fusion Support & training comes with all web hosting accounts
    NetObjects Fusion Web Hosting: http://www.gotHosting.biz

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Nope, I don't have either of those tabs. I'm convinced this has something to do with Earthlink's recent FTP server upgrades. It looked like I had gone through that upgrade successfully, but something is obviously broken now. I think I'll go back to them to see if they can dig a little deeper into it.

  10. #10
    Senior Member gotFusion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    www.gotHosting.biz
    Posts
    4,529

    Default

    You might try using the server IP address instead of ftp.yourDomain.com.
    NetObjects Fusion Cloud Linux enabled Web Hosting, support + training starts at $14.95
    NetObjects Fusion web Hosting and support + ASP + PHP + ColdFusion + MySQL + MS SQL
    FREE NetObjects Fusion Support & training comes with all web hosting accounts
    NetObjects Fusion Web Hosting: http://www.gotHosting.biz

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •