Thread: How to add a facebook like button?

Default How to add a facebook like button?

Running Essentials. Trying to add a FaceBook "like" button to the site but can't quite get it figured out. I can get the HTML from FaceBook but then it goes on about plugins and such...I don't know anything about plugins.

Where do I start?

Something like this? Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Facebook Image..jpg 
Views:	604 
Size:	5.1 KB 
ID:	1057
    a google search shows tons of pictures.... insert where you want it then define properties as you need.

I am new with NetObjects and may be way off base.
    Good luck

well we want it so that when you click the button you automatically like and share the our facebook page. There's an html thing to do but we just don't understand it enough

Makenzie,

Just put a text box on the page where you want the like button to appear. With the cursor flashing, hit Ctrl-T and paste the html you got from facebook in the box....and Publish. Should be all it takes.

Best of luck

David B.

There's a little bit more to it. FB gives two chunks of code - part goes where you want the button to appear, the other part is supposed to be placed somewhere in the body of code.
    Trouble is, if your want your fb like button on every page you'll need to place the other code chunk into each page body - tedious. I put my button in the MasterBorder using a small layout region and I put the other code chunk right above the insert code - works fine and duplicates across all the pages.

HTML Before Tag in Layout Region
    <div id="fb-root"></div>
    <script>(function(d, s, id) {
    var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
    if (d.getElementById(id)) {return;}
    js = d.createElement(s); js.id = id;
    js.src = "//connect.facebook.net/en_US/all.js#xfbml=1";
    fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
    }(document, 'script', 'facebook-jssdk'));</script>