Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Deleting a Page in Design Mode

  1. #1

    Default Deleting a Page in Design Mode

    I sometimes add a page by mistake due to hitting the Ctrl N shortcut instead of Ctrl B. Or sometimes I just want to delete a page for some other reason.

    I couldn't find any way of deleting a page in design mode, without switching to the Site Structure mode. On my large sites this can take more than a few seconds.

    Is there any way to delete the current page while in design mode?
    AMD 64 3500 • 1 Gbyte RAM • onboard GeForce graphics Windows XP Home SP3
    My Web SiteA Brief NetObjects Fusion XII Review

  2. #2
    Senior Member LBA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    California
    Posts
    543

    Default

    Not that I know of, but since you'll probably need to go to Site View anyway in order to choose the page you want to proceed with, not much is lost by going there first to delete the page. In any event, you have no choice.

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LBA View Post
    Not that I know of, but since you'll probably need to go to Site View anyway in order to choose the page you want to proceed with, not much is lost by going there first to delete the page. In any event, you have no choice.
    I want to delete the current page — there's no need to choose the page. When a new page is added, it is automatically selected. Its the child of the page on which Ctrl N was pressed. On deleting the child page the focus will automatically return to the parent page.
    AMD 64 3500 • 1 Gbyte RAM • onboard GeForce graphics Windows XP Home SP3
    My Web SiteA Brief NetObjects Fusion XII Review

  4. #4
    Joe Rotello
    Guest

    Default Re: Deleting a Page in Design Mode

    On 10/8/2012 12:58 PM, Bhikkhu Pesala wrote:
    > LBA wrote:
    >> Not that I know of, but since you'll probably need to go to Site View
    >> anyway in order to choose the page you want to proceed with, not much is
    >> lost by going there first to delete the page. In any event, you have no
    >> choice.

    > I want to delete the -current- page — there's no need to choose
    > the page. When a new page is added, it is automatically selected. Its
    > the child of the page on which Ctrl N was pressed. On deleting the child
    > page the focus will automatically return to the parent page.
    >
    >
    >
    > AMD 64 3500 • 1 Gbyte RAM • onboard GeForce graphics Windows XP Home SP3
    >
    > 'My Web Site' (http://www.aimwell.org/index.html) • 'A Brief NetObjects
    > Fusion XII Review' (http://www.softerviews.org/NOF%20XII.html)
    >

    You can't, even not reliably, delete a page in Design View in any of the
    NOF's, going back to version 1.

    One has to do it from Site View as that's where the internal code does
    its work, and then also "reconnects" the flow of the pages or site that
    you deleted from.

    Joe

  5. #5
    Senior Member franko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Tasmania Australia
    Posts
    2,625

    Default

    since presumably you would want to start working on another page in place of the one you'd deleted, what's wrong with ctrl-A and hit the deleted key? That deletes everything on the page so you can start again.

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Joe Rotello View Post
    One has to do it from Site View as that's where the internal code does
    its work, and then also "reconnects" the flow of the pages or site that
    you deleted from.
    That's what I suspected, but it interrupts the work-flow. Being able to customise the keyboard shortcuts would solve the problem, as one could make it much harder to add new pages by mistake.
    Quote Originally Posted by franko View Post
    since presumably you would want to start working on another page in place of the one you'd deleted, what's wrong with ctrl-A and hit the deleted key? That deletes everything on the page so you can start again.
    A new page is already blank so there's nothing to select with Ctrl A.

    Since I just added a page by mistake, (its all too easy to hit Ctrl N instead of Ctrl B) obviously I wish to delete it. I don't want any more pages — I already have 3,884!
    Last edited by Bhikkhu Pesala; 10-09-2012 at 06:13 AM.
    AMD 64 3500 • 1 Gbyte RAM • onboard GeForce graphics Windows XP Home SP3
    My Web SiteA Brief NetObjects Fusion XII Review

  7. #7
    Joe Rotello
    Guest

    Default Re: Deleting a Page in Design Mode

    On 10/8/2012 10:53 PM, franko wrote:
    > since presumably you would want to start working on another page in
    > place of the one you'd deleted, what's wrong with ctrl-A and hit the
    > deleted key? That deletes everything on the page so you can start again.
    >
    >

    Yes, that's one possible way to essentially delete the page, yet that
    would be more of a "contents of a page" type deletion, rather than
    totally removing page + content as done from the Site display.

    Joe

  8. #8
    Senior Member franko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Tasmania Australia
    Posts
    2,625

    Default

    Yes, that's one possible way to essentially delete the page, yet that
    would be more of a "contents of a page" type deletion, rather than
    totally removing page + content as done from the Site display.

    Joe
    Sure, but I was assuming since Bhikku was working in that section of the site to have hit ctrl-n and gotten a new page, he would want to add a new page to it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •