Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Table problem, what am I doing wrong?

  1. #1

    Default Table problem, what am I doing wrong?

    I'm updating one of my webpages and something went wrong with tables.

    Pls look http://www.specialday-ireland.com/uk.html and you should see that all the dealer names and phone numbers are black = not visible. You can see that texts are there if you paint it with your cursor.

    Text shouldn't be black but white just like http://www.specialday-ireland.com/ireland.html and on NOF table looks ok but when I publish it (local or web) it's like that. What am I missing here?

    Also, when you look at that UK page navigation buttons, they are from different set than the other pages has, even they should be exactly the same.

    Could anyone see from source code what am I doing wrong here?

    Lots of thanks beforehand!

    EDIT: On UK page you can also see that left hand nagition bar is totally out of it's place and I have no idea why...

    BW

    Kimmo

  2. #2
    Senior Member RayC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Toronto-ish, Canada
    Posts
    1,732

    Default

    Well, the background is set to black, and so is the text. Careful, Google will penalize you for that sort of thing.

    The CSS refers to the colour of the text in the table like so:

    HTML Code:
    color: windowtext;
    The colour of "windowtext" is black. I can't say if this is a style you've created, or the browser interpreting the CSS. The colour may have been inherited from something else if nothing is explicitly defined.

    HTH
    Ray Cambpell
    Sounds In Sync
    Linked in

  3. #3

    Default

    Thank's for the info.

    But if you compare that UK page and Ireland page, their tables should be exactly the same, I haven't change anything and still another text is white and another is black? Cannot figure it out.

    And how about top navigation bar, buttons are different on UK than Ireland pages, even they use same layout and same button styles?

    And how about that left side navigation bar, as you can see on Ireland page it is where is should be but on UK, its wayyyyyy down. Why?

    Zeesus, I have done this update all weekend and this is the result...

  4. #4
    Twayne
    Guest

    Default Re: Table problem, what am I doing wrong?

    In news:Centauri.5pudrb@no-mx.forums.netobjects.com,
    Centauri <Centauri.5pudrb@no-mx.forums.netobjects.com> typed:
    > Thank's for the info.
    >
    > But if you compare that UK page and Ireland page, their
    > tables should be exactly the same, I haven't change
    > anything and still another text is white and another is
    > black? Cannot figure it out.
    >
    > And how about top navigation bar, buttons are different
    > on UK than Ireland pages, even they use same layout and
    > same button styles?
    >
    > And how about that left side navigation bar, as you can
    > see on Ireland page it is where is should be but on UK,
    > its wayyyyyy down. Why?
    >
    > Zeesus, I have done this update all weekend and this is
    > the result...


    "But" ... Don't negate Ray's advise. I feel sure he's right and that's what
    you should concentrate on. You can play around later to see if you can
    figure out what happened by creating test sites and fiddling with them.
    In fact, recreating the errant page might not be a bad idea; perhaps
    something glitched in opening the Template. Don't upload it, but try a Local
    Publish and see if the problem still remains.
    Or perhaps the old NOF glitched in creating the template. So create a new
    one of those, too, and Import it; see what gives.

    HTH,

    Twayne`



  5. #5
    Senior Member RayC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Toronto-ish, Canada
    Posts
    1,732

    Default

    On the Ireland page, your text colour is inherited from "BODY", but on UK, as I said, it is "WINDOWTEXT". This refers to the system text colour on the site visitors computer.

    Did you copy/paste the table from Word or Excel? You likely inherited some MS code, if so. Always a bad idea.

    You could try selecting the table and clearing all formatting and forcing it to default to <P>. Keep in mind you can have different formatting for the table, each row, each column and each cell, so be sure to clear it all.

    Or you could simply recreate the UK page. If you're going to copy/paste from the old page to the new, check after each item is pasted to see if something in particular is messing things up.
    Ray Cambpell
    Sounds In Sync
    Linked in

  6. #6
    Senior Member franko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Tasmania Australia
    Posts
    2,642

    Default

    If you're going to copy/paste from the old page to the new, check after each item is pasted to see if something in particular is messing things up.
    If you're going to copy/paste from anything to NoF you should either have your paste default set to Unformatted Text (under the edit menu -> special paste) or, and this is my preferred methodology after many, many years with NoF, wash it through a text editor.

  7. #7

    Default

    You are all right. I did copy/paste some of the new details from customers Excel, mainly those website links, some of the cities too. I'm fully aware that I should always use that "Paste special > Unformatted text" and I always do, but it was sooo long day and sooo long list and sooo many names/numbers/links, that most probably I have missed once or twice that 'Unformatted text' button. Now when I really try to remember, I probably accidentaly klicked once that "Paste special > HTML Format" instead of "Unformatted text". Back then nothing seemed to happen, so I continued...

    I copied these "broken" tables to another page. I tried to save at least original UK-page but even when I took off all tables from it, it still shows wrong buttons. So most probably that mistake I made has affected to whole page and it cannot be fixed easily.

    So I created now new clean UK-page and it seems to be working fine. Now I'll start to create new tables on it. Most probably it's best way to copy cell by cell and now using 'Unformatted text' for sure.

    So many missed hours!

    Thank you all!

  8. #8
    Senior Member gotFusion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    www.gotHosting.biz
    Posts
    4,529

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Centauri View Post
    You are all right. I did copy/paste some of the new details from customers Excel,
    You can set the default paste option in Fusion to strip all external coding to avoid this in the Future.

    This gotFusion tutorial will explain how to set the default paste option

    http://www.gotfusion.com/tutorials/tut.cfm?itemID=4067

    You also might want to go over the gotFusion tutorial on how to locate and remove MS formatting code

    http://www.gotfusion.com/tutorials/tut.cfm?itemID=220

    And of course another gotFusion tutorial that will explain how to clean up any inline formatting that you may have accidentally inserted.

    http://www.gotfusion.com/tutorials/tut.cfm?itemID=4046

    If you are not bored to tears from reading the previous tutorials you can go over how to set up your CSS files and how to avoid inserting inline html formatting in the future

    http://www.gotfusion.com/tutorials/tut.cfm?itemID=4079

    And another (general overview) tutorial

    http://www.gotfusion.com/tutorials/tut.cfm?itemID=4069

    Once you have finished with all of your edits and changes you should clean up your work files and folders and do a full local publish to remove any and all orphans

    http://www.gotfusion.com/tutorials/tut.cfm?itemID=4029
    NetObjects Fusion Cloud Linux enabled Web Hosting, support + training starts at $14.95
    NetObjects Fusion web Hosting and support + ASP + PHP + ColdFusion + MySQL + MS SQL
    FREE NetObjects Fusion Support & training comes with all web hosting accounts
    NetObjects Fusion Web Hosting: http://www.gotHosting.biz

  9. #9
    Joe Rotello
    Guest

    Default Re: Table problem, what am I doing wrong?

    Centauri ...

    If no one has advised you yet, almost all websites that use a black
    background with white text or graphics is incredibly hard on the eyes,
    and is indeed hard to read.

    Many of your website visitors will wind up not visiting your site if
    their eyes squint and hurt after about a minute or longer looking at
    web-pages with black backgrounds.

    Can you consider a lighter background, then use a dark blue or
    "traditional" black letters or dark colored text headers, etc ?

    Joe

    On 1/27/2013 1:45 PM, Centauri wrote:
    > I'm updating one of my webpages and something went wrong with tables.
    >
    > Pls look http://www.specialday-ireland.com/uk.html and you should see
    > that all the dealer names and phone numbers are black = not visible. You
    > can see that texts are there if you paint it with your cursor.
    >
    > Text shouldn't be black but white just like
    > http://www.specialday-ireland.com/ireland.html and on NOF table looks ok
    > but when I publish it (local or web) it's like that. What am I missing
    > here?
    >
    > Also, when you look at that UK page navigation buttons, they are from
    > different set than the other pages has, even they should be exactly the
    > same.
    >
    > Could anyone see from source code what am I doing wrong here?
    >
    > Lots of thanks beforehand!
    >
    > BW
    >
    > Kimmo
    >
    >



  10. #10

    Default

    Thank you all for your help! There were some external code somewhere but with your help I managed to clear them out so after all I didn't have to remake any of the tables.

    So once again, thank you!

    BW

    Kimmo

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •