Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Fusion 7 - How do I stop Index showing as the pagename for every page?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    17

    Default Fusion 7 - How do I stop Index showing as the pagename for every page?

    I'm using Fusion 7 and for some reason, every page now shows up as www.website.com/index.html rather than the actual page name.
    I have no idea how this happened but it's killing my google rankings. Help Please.

  2. #2
    Senior Member chuckj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    www.beyondfusion.com - Florida
    Posts
    1,302

    Default

    Turn off frames.
    Chuck Joslin
    www.BeyondFusion.com
    PHP & MySQL development with Fusion
    Fusion support for AllWebMenus (Likno) Contact me for custom AWM menus for your sites.
    Tutorials and Forums

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    17

    Default

    Hi Chuck,
    Thanks for getting back to me.
    How do I turn off frames as I was unaware I turned them on?
    Thanks
    K

  4. #4
    Senior Member chuckj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    www.beyondfusion.com - Florida
    Posts
    1,302

    Default

    Open your index page in Design View. Press F10.

    Look for AutoFrames and make sure they are unselected.

    Republish your site.
    Chuck Joslin
    www.BeyondFusion.com
    PHP & MySQL development with Fusion
    Fusion support for AllWebMenus (Likno) Contact me for custom AWM menus for your sites.
    Tutorials and Forums

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    17

    Default

    They were turn off and I have republished and yet the pages still all say index?
    I also note that my page titles don't show either, it only quotes what I put for my index page?

    I did notice that my masterborder has this in the html part. I'm using Cascadia Menu so I'm not sure if this refers to that element of the page?
    <script language="JavaScript"> <!-- Hide the script from old browsers -- function surfto(form) { var myindex=form.dest.selectedIndex window.open(form.dest.options[myindex].value, target="body"); } // --> </script>

    Would this be causing the issue?

    I also noticed when I published that my index file is index.html and yet the others are page.htm
    Last edited by kimcourt; 02-07-2013 at 06:47 PM.

  6. #6
    Senior Member chuckj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    www.beyondfusion.com - Florida
    Posts
    1,302

    Default

    Can we have your site URL to look at the code?
    Chuck Joslin
    www.BeyondFusion.com
    PHP & MySQL development with Fusion
    Fusion support for AllWebMenus (Likno) Contact me for custom AWM menus for your sites.
    Tutorials and Forums

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    17

    Default

    www.home-inspectors.com

    Thanks Chuck!

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    17

    Default

    Question please Chuck...
    I imported my old Fusion 7 site in Fusion 12 as a template.
    Is the page naming issue on my old site likely to migrate to the new one?

  9. #9
    Senior Member mia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Germany /Deutschland
    Posts
    809

    Default

    I'm not Chuck...but I hope you don't mind me answering...

    You DO have frames in your website. This is the reason why the URL is not changing.
    Here is part of your source code:
    <frameset border="0" framespacing="0" frameborder="0" cols="*,704">
    <frame name="body" title="body" src="./body_index.html" scrolling="AUTO" marginwidth="2" marginheight="2">
    <frame name="right" title="right" src="./right_defaultmasterborder.htm" scrolling="AUTO" marginwidth="2" marginheight="1" frameborder="NO" border="0" noresize="">
    </frameset>
    Go to the masterborder properties, like Chuck said, tab Auto Frames and make sure you don't have any numbers behind : Left, Right, Top, Bottom.
    And after you disabled the frames make a complete publish of your project.
    Last edited by mia; 02-10-2013 at 07:11 PM.
    http://www.nof-community.de
    NOF-Community, Hilfe, Support, Tutorials, Anleitungen, Tipps und Tricks für Netobjects Fusion und SwissKnife Komponenten

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    17

    Default

    Thanks Mia,

    That problem seems to now be resolved.

    I wonder however if you can also assist with Meta Tag insertion.
    Firstly, does it matter how many spaces are left between meta tags and do you use a comma or a semi-colon?
    Is there a maximum number permitted or Google?
    I put mine on years ago and I forgot how. I think I inserted the list in a from a choice of "Between Head, Inside Body or Beginning of body" but I forgot the process.

    I know that google has changed their search parameters, does it even pay to use meta tags anymore? Someone mentioned keywords instead and I have no idea how to insert them or where?
    They also mentioned that page name was important but I wasn't sure if they meant name or title and again, how one does either.
    Fusion 12 has it mostly covered but not Fusion 7.

    I'd appreciate your imput -
    Thanks
    Kim

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •