Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Index.html page not found by google

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    17

    Default Index.html page not found by google

    Using Fusion 7.5 - I hopefully fixed up my home page spamming issues as Mike suggested ( I thought) and actually found some of my pages ranked but not very well on Google.

    I'm using Google webmaster tools and noted a crawl error that said it could not find my "index.htm" page.
    I have no warnings about this page and they say there are no blocked URL's on our site. www.home-inspectors.com
    In looking at my fusion files, I've noticed that all my pages are .htm EXCEPT the index page which is index.html for some reason. Could this be the issue?
    Note sure why this happened. I created a site map using a free xml sitemap tool and submitted it and a good majority of the pages got indexed but obviously not my home page.
    I noticed on the site map it has it listed as index.html as well.

    Other crawl issues are not being able to locate the body of certain pages. ie. body_purpose.htm
    I've turned off frames as instructed and republished from scratch. So could it be anchors within the layout portion of the page that google cannot locate?
    Note sure why this happened. I created a site map using a sitemap tool and submitted it and a good majority of the pages got indexed but obviously not my home page.

    Some site settings I have no idea about but may help for information are.
    For the site settings (which I don't think I've ever adjusted) are as follows;
    Browser - Dynamic Page layout - All browsers
    Tables
    Text formatting is CSS
    Quote - Straight quotes
    Under other HTML options - both include transparent gif as spacer and include character set meta tag are ticked

    Thanks in advance for assistance!
    Cheers
    Kim

  2. #2
    Senior Member gotFusion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    www.gotHosting.biz
    Posts
    4,526

    Default

    And the URL of your web site is???????????
    NetObjects Fusion Cloud Linux enabled Web Hosting, support + training starts at $14.95
    NetObjects Fusion web Hosting and support + ASP + PHP + ColdFusion + MySQL + MS SQL
    FREE NetObjects Fusion Support & training comes with all web hosting accounts
    NetObjects Fusion Web Hosting: http://www.gotHosting.biz

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    17

    Default

    Sorry Mike, it's on the 3rd line of my email but i guess you missed it.
    www.home-inspectors.com

    I think I found out how to change index to .htm on siteview.
    But my other questions still remain about the google web master tools indicating their were crawl errors on numerous pages which received a 404 error
    www.home-inspectors.com/body_purpose.htm
    I fixed the frames issues but could this be an anchor link not functioning?

    I also noticed on one SEO site it says I have about 70 html errors on my homepage and suggested I go to TIDY HTML to fix it.
    That's why I asked earlier if you can replace a home page as I have no idea how to correct html errors.
    Thanks
    Last edited by kimcourt; 03-12-2013 at 06:34 PM.

  4. #4
    Senior Member gotFusion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    www.gotHosting.biz
    Posts
    4,526

    Default

    It appears that you have both an index.html and index.htm

    http://www.home-inspectors.com/index.htm

    http://www.home-inspectors.com/index.html

    You need to clean up and decide which extension you want to use as jumping back and forth is going to cause you issues.

    Until you decide what you want to call your pages you will never get ranked as htm and html are different pages.

    You may want to clean off all of your pages and do a clean publish using either html or htm as your default extension

    Here is my "clean up" tutorial

    http://www.gotfusion.com/tutorials/tut.cfm?itemID=4029

    Here is where you make the change in page extension in Fusion 12 (tutorial covers changing the home page name but the full site page extension selection drop down box is below the home page name drop down box)

    http://www.gotfusion.com/tutorials/tut.cfm?itemID=4064

    Remove all of your remote web pages and do a full site remote publish to get your domain content cleaned up.
    NetObjects Fusion Cloud Linux enabled Web Hosting, support + training starts at $14.95
    NetObjects Fusion web Hosting and support + ASP + PHP + ColdFusion + MySQL + MS SQL
    FREE NetObjects Fusion Support & training comes with all web hosting accounts
    NetObjects Fusion Web Hosting: http://www.gotHosting.biz

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    17

    Default

    Thanks Mike - very good tutorials.

    I did a full clean out & republish when I changed all the keywords a few days ago (prior to the index.htm & .html issue arising) but I'll do another one again.

    Is there any advantage in .htm vs. .html formats.

    I aslo noticed in some SEO tools that they give you 3 options to search a site.
    1 http://www.website.com
    2 www.website.com
    3 website.com


    All three versions have different stats attached to them for backlinks etc...
    I was only aware of having one site?
    Is this normal and do I need to amalgamate this into site only.
    Last edited by kimcourt; 03-13-2013 at 02:46 PM.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •