Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: can not create web site from existing online site

  1. #1
    Senior Member TheeDragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    195

    Default can not create web site from existing online site

    this is MY site
    the NOD file on older computer
    get error msg on DL

    any one want to try and fetch this:

    www.topgun DOT com/gold

    thanks

    ps
    have NEVER tried to fetch/rip a site before
    hope this is an easy syntax issue

  2. #2
    Senior Member RayC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Toronto-ish, Canada
    Posts
    1,732

    Default

    You can use a program like HTTrack to rip/copy a site to your hard drive. Since it is your site, you could also just use an FTP client to download everything.

    From there, if you need to re-build the site from scratch, you can use the raw materials (images, text, etc.) to re-create it in Fusion.

    Don't expect NOF to create a functional NOD file from an existing web site. It doesn't work very well.
    Ray Cambpell
    Sounds In Sync
    Linked in

  3. #3
    Senior Member gotFusion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    www.gotHosting.biz
    Posts
    4,529

    Default

    Export a template from the old computer where the site project database is located. Then import the project database into the new computer/install

    You might want to read these older threads about the Fusion database project file:

    http://forums.netobjects.com/showthr...ll=1#post44946

    http://forums.netobjects.com/showthr...ll=1#post41423
    NetObjects Fusion Cloud Linux enabled Web Hosting, support + training starts at $14.95
    NetObjects Fusion web Hosting and support + ASP + PHP + ColdFusion + MySQL + MS SQL
    FREE NetObjects Fusion Support & training comes with all web hosting accounts
    NetObjects Fusion Web Hosting: http://www.gotHosting.biz

  4. #4
    Senior Member TheeDragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    195

    Default

    ok - already ripped the folders down using FTP
    now what?
    make new website from hard drive?
    hm m m m .
    almost worked
    had many broken assets , etc =
    will play with it later
    just been hand coding the corrections with notepad++

    thanks for the tip

  5. #5
    Senior Member TheeDragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    195

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RayC View Post
    You can use a program like HTTrack to rip/copy a site to your hard drive. Since it is your site, you could also just use an FTP client to download everything.

    From there, if you need to re-build the site from scratch, you can use the raw materials (images, text, etc.) to re-create it in Fusion.

    Don't expect NOF to create a functional NOD file from an existing web site. It doesn't work very well.
    old computer = kaput

  6. #6
    Senior Member gotFusion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    www.gotHosting.biz
    Posts
    4,529

    Default

    What is the URL of the site?

    If it is a small site (under 50 pages) it will be much faster to start all over again.

    When you get the site back together export the site as a template as outlined in this tutorial

    http://www.gotfusion.com/tutorials/tut.cfm?itemID=16

    Then the next time you have computer problems you can rebuild the entire site with 3 mouse clicks using the method outlined in this tutorial

    http://www.gotfusion.com/tutorials/tut.cfm?itemID=17
    NetObjects Fusion Cloud Linux enabled Web Hosting, support + training starts at $14.95
    NetObjects Fusion web Hosting and support + ASP + PHP + ColdFusion + MySQL + MS SQL
    FREE NetObjects Fusion Support & training comes with all web hosting accounts
    NetObjects Fusion Web Hosting: http://www.gotHosting.biz

  7. #7
    Senior Member TheeDragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    195

    Default

    thanks
    this time
    I just edited the html by hand
    it was a rare time . . . I used a table to present data
    4 colums / 40 rows
    a little tedious / but all done

    even though I am AVID file back-up person
    as NOF changes is default locations so often
    I missed some ;(

    thanks !

  8. #8
    Senior Member franko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Tasmania Australia
    Posts
    2,642

    Default

    even though I am AVID file back-up person
    as NOF changes is default locations so often
    I missed some ;(
    I'm wondering what you mean by this? You choose where to keep your user sites when you install NoF and you can change that at any time. All my sites are on RAID redundant physical hard drives. You can also choose where you keep your site backups and autosaves (mine are on the same redundant physical drives as the user sites) and they are backed up to an external hard drive.

    The only time that NoF to the best of my knowledge has changed default locations has been with the introduction of Vista and successive windows versions and that was a change enforced by windows.

  9. #9

    Default Old Assets - Remain!

    Quote Originally Posted by franko View Post
    I'm wondering what you mean by this? You choose where to keep your user sites when you install NoF and you can change that at any time. All my sites are on RAID redundant physical hard drives. You can also choose where you keep your site backups and autosaves (mine are on the same redundant physical drives as the user sites) and they are backed up to an external hard drive.

    The only time that NoF to the best of my knowledge has changed default locations has been with the introduction of Vista and successive windows versions and that was a change enforced by windows.

    I know just about every faulty nuance of fusion and this is neither a fusion BUG or MS one.

    Before you export or save as your fusion site check out your assets, sort them in order and look for assets on alternate drives and locations, this can be a result of past re-installs to NON primary drives or just fetching assets from non-primary drives, and if there is a bug its typically the fusion program moreso then even Microsoft.

    Duf

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •