Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Sliders/ Carousel jquery

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Senior Member Kitty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Harley Town USA
    Posts
    171

    Default Sliders/ Carousel jquery

    I know there was a discussion elsewhere about using one of those accordion type sliders (or whatever you call it), but regarding the 'new' carousel in v.13... does that also mean that if I use a different plugin/slider it will work? I have tried dif ones in v.12 and it didn't work. I have a handful of sliders that are supposed to be very good. Many are WP plugins, and some not... most notable --
    http://codecanyon.net/item/royalslid...gallery/461126
    and then SliderPro, but I see it's a WP plugin.

    Bottom line - can I use the RoyalSlider in v.13 now? Anyone know?

    Thanks!
    - for the record, on quick inspection, it doesn't appear that the new NOF Carousel has a heck of a lot of options, correct? This is totally random & a fast test page - not even inside of the correct website - quickie example >
    http://ink2art.com/client/lisabo/html/testgallery.html
    and this is a basic version within WP of a site that I've started in WP but want to do it in NOF (want the total design freedom that I have in NOF over WP) >
    http://kittycasa.com/products/word-stones/

    ANYhow, if anyone has any suggestions, that would be awesome - thanks!
    ~Kitty
    The biz http://ink2art.com
    Giving it away since 1995... http://fullmoongraphics.com

  2. #2
    Senior Member gotFusion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    www.gotHosting.biz
    Posts
    4,526

    Default

    Best thing to do is test it on a new site project containing only the external jquery code and using the Fusion scripting files.

    Fusion 2013 is using an updated jquery script code so it is a "test and see" type of thing when it comes to external jquery routines working without modifying the code Fusion generates.
    NetObjects Fusion Cloud Linux enabled Web Hosting, support + training starts at $14.95
    NetObjects Fusion web Hosting and support + ASP + PHP + ColdFusion + MySQL + MS SQL
    FREE NetObjects Fusion Support & training comes with all web hosting accounts
    NetObjects Fusion Web Hosting: http://www.gotHosting.biz

  3. #3
    Senior Member Kitty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Harley Town USA
    Posts
    171

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gotFusion View Post
    Best thing to do is test it on a new site project containing only the external jquery code and using the Fusion scripting files.

    Fusion 2013 is using an updated jquery script code so it is a "test and see" type of thing when it comes to external jquery routines working without modifying the code Fusion generates.
    Thanks Mike, but, ummm, I have no clue what you mean.
    :/
    Ya, I know... that's why I was so excited about the carousel because I don't know much about that kind of code stuff. Thanks for replying though!
    The biz http://ink2art.com
    Giving it away since 1995... http://fullmoongraphics.com

  4. #4
    Senior Member franko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Tasmania Australia
    Posts
    2,622

    Default

    I've always used WOWSlider for my sliders and haven't had any real problems with NoF, although I have stuck with an earlier version which works with the JQuery version in v12.

    Has anyone tried the latest wowslider with 2013 yet? I can't see any reason it wouldn't work but haven't had the chance to try it (24pp magazine to finish and a sermon to write before the weekend!)

  5. #5
    Senior Member Kitty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Harley Town USA
    Posts
    171

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by franko View Post
    I've always used WOWSlider for my sliders and haven't had any real problems with NoF, although I have stuck with an earlier version which works with the JQuery version in v12.

    Has anyone tried the latest wowslider with 2013 yet? I can't see any reason it wouldn't work but haven't had the chance to try it
    Thanks Franko... you know I keep getting emails with special deals from them and pretty much ignored them. I should give it a try. Did you have to do much additional coding/scripting when you used it in NOF? I should give that one a try, hmm?

    Ok, settled! The only way to find out is to do it, right?

    Better get goin' Franko - sounds like you have your work cut out for you!

    ~Kitty
    The biz http://ink2art.com
    Giving it away since 1995... http://fullmoongraphics.com

  6. #6
    Senior Member RayC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Toronto-ish, Canada
    Posts
    1,731

    Default

    I've done a lot of mucking about with these things, and I keep saying (and everyone but Thomas keeps ignoring) that the problem comes when you have multiple calls to jQuery.

    NOF will insert it's own jQuery -- sometimes. When it does, and you add your own jQuery manually to the <HEAD> section because WOW Slider or Royal Slider or whatever needs it, you've got two calls to jQuery. NOF 12 used an ancient version (ca. 1.3.2) and most scripts use something newer. So you get code conflicts. You load jQuery 1.8.3 for Royal Slider, then load jQuery 1.3.2 over top of that, and you get conflicts in the jQuery code.

    There are ways in NOF 12 to work around this. However, since NOF 13 now uses a more modern version of jQuery (1.8.3, I think) Royal Slider should work fine. Just try to be aware if NOF is inserting a jQuery call. If it is, you can skip the line for jQuery that Royal Slider needs.

    One other thing, you should also ensure that the call to load jquery.royalslider.min.js comes AFTER the jQuery line, as one may depend on the other already being there.
    Ray Cambpell
    Sounds In Sync
    Linked in

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •