Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21

Thread: Sliders/ Carousel jquery

  1. #11
    Senior Member Kitty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Harley Town USA
    Posts
    171

    Default

    Coke & a bag of chips? hahaha Ray.

    Well, I tried the WOW slider. Didn't add code within NOF, just built the slider with their tool & uploaded it to server, then placed an iframe on NOF page.The local preview (without NOF) looked awesome while the iframe in NOF and uploaded to server version, looked crappy.

    This must be what you guys were referring to --- the uploaded slider looked icky because the "wowslider.js" was not in the directory. So I uploaded it via FTP. Then refreshed. Then guess what? It disappeared again. NOF ate it.

    I totally don't get it, don't understand that stuff. All I know is that I couldn't get the slider to work correctly (in v.13).

    I could get Royal Slider working in NOF 12 by removing the NOF jQuery line.
    Ray, how can I do that? or where?

    Thanks!
    ~Kitty
    The biz http://ink2art.com
    Giving it away since 1995... http://fullmoongraphics.com

  2. #12
    Senior Member RayC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Toronto-ish, Canada
    Posts
    1,731

    Default

    You can do this one of two ways:

    1. Edit your html file after publishing, deleting (or commenting out) the NOF jQuery line.
    2. Use the SwissKnife jQuery component to select a newer version for NOF to use, and skip the one specified for Royal Slider


    #1 is easier for a quick test, but is a bit of a pain during updates.
    Ray Cambpell
    Sounds In Sync
    Linked in

  3. #13
    Senior Member Kitty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Harley Town USA
    Posts
    171

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RayC View Post
    You can do this one of two ways:

    [LIST=1][*]Edit your html file after publishing, deleting (or commenting out) the NOF jQuery line.
    Ok, opened the index.html file in Notepad++ and I see no .js other than the WOW slider, ie; engine1/jquery.js

    What am I missing Ray?
    - and thank you!
    This is the test page > http://ink2art.com/client/karenw/html/index.html
    and this is the way it should look >
    Attachment 1393
    The biz http://ink2art.com
    Giving it away since 1995... http://fullmoongraphics.com

  4. #14
    Senior Member RayC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Toronto-ish, Canada
    Posts
    1,731

    Default

    Hmmm.... well this might be your problem:

    The requested URL /client/karenw/html/engine1/wowslider.js was not found on this server.
    Ray Cambpell
    Sounds In Sync
    Linked in

  5. #15
    Senior Member Kitty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Harley Town USA
    Posts
    171

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RayC View Post
    Hmmm.... well this might be your problem:

    The requested URL /client/karenw/html/engine1/wowslider.js was not found on this server.
    Oh, I know! And that is what's so weird. Last nite I uploaded the wowslider.js to that directory via ftp. I could swear that it uploaded and I actually saw it, but didn't change anything on the web page. I refreshed everything and then the wowslider.js disappeared! It was no longer in the directory (as above).

    So just now, I tried to upload it once again via ftp, and it would NOT upload! I use FireFTP, works just fine otherwise.

    Tried uploading different .js files and they do NOT upload via ftp. What the heck is that all about? oh my goodness... why am I messing around with this (valuable time indeed)? I shouild just go back to my old tried & true CoolMaps slide show!
    geeesh.
    The biz http://ink2art.com
    Giving it away since 1995... http://fullmoongraphics.com

  6. #16

    Cool

    Quote Originally Posted by Kitty View Post
    Oh, I know! And that is what's so weird. Last nite I uploaded the wowslider.js to that directory via ftp. I could swear that it uploaded and I actually saw it, but didn't change anything on the web page. I refreshed everything and then the wowslider.js disappeared! It was no longer in the directory (as above).

    So just now, I tried to upload it once again via ftp, and it would NOT upload! I use FireFTP, works just fine otherwise.

    Tried uploading different .js files and they do NOT upload via ftp. What the heck is that all about? oh my goodness... why am I messing around with this (valuable time indeed)? I shouild just go back to my old tried & true CoolMaps slide show!
    geeesh.

    Add the .js files to the Assets of Your Application....... Click ALWAYS PUBLISH on the .js Asset...... Then Upload Using NOF's ftp......

  7. #17
    Senior Member Kitty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Harley Town USA
    Posts
    171

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bronco Billy View Post
    Add the .js files to the Assets of Your Application....... Click ALWAYS PUBLISH on the .js Asset...... Then Upload Using NOF's ftp......
    Hmmm, that sounds good Billy. I'll try it.

    Thanks!
    ~Kitty

    ** Just tried it - I could see the wowslider.js get uploaded, but the darn thing just doesn't go on the site! No change in page, no file listed from ftp/on server. Very bizarre!
    Last edited by Kitty; 05-07-2013 at 05:28 PM.
    The biz http://ink2art.com
    Giving it away since 1995... http://fullmoongraphics.com

  8. #18
    Senior Member Kitty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Harley Town USA
    Posts
    171

    Default

    More testing... just used Coolmaps slide show, took 3 min. Boom. Very basic for now...
    (nothing to pay attention to on the page otherwise, just testing)
    http://ink2art.com/client/karenw/htm...io/studio.html

    Thanks for your help you guys, but I think I'm going to put it to rest for now.

    ~Kitty
    The biz http://ink2art.com
    Giving it away since 1995... http://fullmoongraphics.com

  9. #19
    Senior Member franko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Tasmania Australia
    Posts
    2,613

    Default

    Are you on a unix server? What are your file permissions set at? Have you checked with your web host as to why this might be happening as it iseems the file is uploading but then you cannot see it and that smacks of a server setup issue.

  10. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    120

    Default

    Wowslider works fine with NOF2013. I find the carousel in NOF2013 to be pretty simplistic. You should add the code into NOF and it works just fine. The only thing that you need to do is to make sure that you only have one call to jQuery. Basically wowslider and NOF2013 are using the same version of jQuery so you do not have to worry. For Wowslider you need to add 2 lines to the head and one of them is the jQuery line. Just leave the NOF one there if there is one. If there is not one then put the one for wowslider.

    I am sure that NOF is not eating it. You have to upload 2 folders with Wowslider and also put 2 lines in the head and some stuff at a code entry point in a text box in the body.

    Here is a slider from Wowslider with NOF2013
    http://nstire.ca/

    Gary

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •