Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Navigation Bar not shown on page with form

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    9

    Default Navigation Bar not shown on page with form

    I have used NOF since version 2.

    I am now busy with my first site in NOF2013.

    When I published (local and remote) a test version of this simple site, I noted that the navigation bar did not display on one of the pages (Contact). It does display in NOF design view. All pages use the same masterborder.

    I duplicated the page and removed a contact form from the duplicated page. The navigation bar displays properly on the duplicated page without the form.

    Is this a known bug?

    Is there a solution?

  2. #2
    Senior Member RayC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Toronto-ish, Canada
    Posts
    1,722

    Default

    This is the first I've heard of this.

    Are you using the NOF contact form, or a third party form?
    If the former, are you using Form Tools to create the form or FormHandle.php?
    If the latter, does it use any jQuery or other javascript?

    Finally, do you have a test URL that folks could look at?
    Ray Cambpell
    Sounds In Sync
    Linked in

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    9

    Default

    I have created the form from scratch, using Form Tools and actioning a formmail script. I have done this before in earlier versions of NOF.

    The test site has been published at http://www.suprotoets.co.za/xtoetsbuscho146/index.htm (The contact form will not yet work.)

    The site now contains two "Contact" pages: The first with the contact form (not showing the nav bar) and the second without the contact form (showing the nav bar). There is a text navigation bar at the bottom of the page. This displays properly on both versions of the "Contact" page.

    --------
    I have started to try to identify the element creating the problem by gradually building a form on a different page.
    1. Added table as form. Publish page. Nav bar shows.
    2. Added an Edit Field. Publish page. Nav bar shows.
    3. Set validation for the edit field ("required"). Publsih page. Nav bar does not show.

    Seems the problem has to do with the validation (script).
    Last edited by antonz; 06-14-2013 at 12:42 PM.

  4. #4
    Senior Member mia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Germany /Deutschland
    Posts
    809

    Default

    This has been reported before that the navigation bar vanishes when the contact form contains a mandatory field.
    As workaround was suggested to publish by Site structur.
    And if you change the HTML output to HTML 4.01 with tables, it should work as well.
    http://www.nof-community.de
    NOF-Community, Hilfe, Support, Tutorials, Anleitungen, Tipps und Tricks für Netobjects Fusion und SwissKnife Komponenten

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Thank you Mia, I will try these possible workarounds.

    Anton

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    9

    Default

    I have tried publishing as HTM 4.01 with tables. Works.

    Fortunately I can work with html 4.01 for this site.

    Thanks.

    Are they working on a solution for HTML5 output? I hope so since HTML5/form field validation will be a very common combination.

  7. #7
    Senior Member mia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Germany /Deutschland
    Posts
    809

    Default

    Hopefully it will be contained in the next update.
    It's been reported already a few weeks ago....
    http://www.nof-community.de
    NOF-Community, Hilfe, Support, Tutorials, Anleitungen, Tipps und Tricks für Netobjects Fusion und SwissKnife Komponenten

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Danke schön!

    Thank you for the quick response and solution.

    Anton

  9. #9
    Senior Member franko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Tasmania Australia
    Posts
    2,514

    Default

    Seems like I may now finally invest in either AllWebMenus or CSS3 Menus. Should solve the problem.

  10. #10
    Senior Member chuckj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    www.beyondfusion.com - Florida
    Posts
    1,254

    Default

    AllWebMenus is awesome. Having a Fusion component makes it unique amongst 3rd party menu making programs.
    Chuck Joslin
    www.BeyondFusion.com
    PHP & MySQL development with Fusion
    Fusion support for AllWebMenus (Likno) Contact me for custom AWM menus for your sites.
    Tutorials and Forums

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •