Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Cannot get a page to CENTER....

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Bowie Maryland USA
    Posts
    88

    Default Cannot get a page to CENTER....

    Guys..

    I cannot get this page to center. I suspect that my son (many years ago) build this page as a Custom page. For some reason it will not "center."

    http://www.wiscorp.com/products.html

    Can anybody help me here.

    Regards,
    Mike Gorman

    When I go to the page via NO13, the page, under Layout Properties has the "Center in Browser" checked.
    When I press the "HTML button" it consists of:

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0 Transitional//EN">
    <HTML>
    <HEAD>
    <TITLE> Title of Page will be generated by NetObjects Fusion 2013. </TITLE>


    <!-- NetObjects Fusion 2013 Generated HEAD HTML-->
    </HEAD>
    <BODY NetObjects Fusion 2013 Generated BODY Parameters

    >


    <!-- NetObjects Fusion 2013 Generated BODY -->


    </BODY>
    </HTML>

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  2. #2
    Senior Member chuckj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    www.beyondfusion.com - Florida
    Posts
    1,302

    Default

    You can't center a page that uses "Fixed Layout" as it was called years ago when the site was created.

    You need to switch to HTML 4.01 with tables or HTML 5 in Fusion 2013.
    Chuck Joslin
    www.BeyondFusion.com
    PHP & MySQL development with Fusion
    Fusion support for AllWebMenus (Likno) Contact me for custom AWM menus for your sites.
    Tutorials and Forums

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Bowie Maryland USA
    Posts
    88

    Default

    Chuck:

    Thanks for the quick reply. When I did as you suggested, HTML 4.01 with tables and HTML 5, and thereafter pressed the Preview button, two things resulted:

    1) The page remained LEFT adjusted, not centered.
    2) When I hovered over the hot-spots, the italics text only once or so appeared in the middle. The other instances of the text were on the very far right of the page.

    I sure wanted your suggestion to work.

    Regards,
    Mike G

  4. #4
    Senior Member chuckj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    www.beyondfusion.com - Florida
    Posts
    1,302

    Default

    It does work.

    You're seeing more than I am. When I go to your URL, it's a blank page.

    I saw that you were using fixed layout by looking at the page source.

    There are other issues apparently.
    Chuck Joslin
    www.BeyondFusion.com
    PHP & MySQL development with Fusion
    Fusion support for AllWebMenus (Likno) Contact me for custom AWM menus for your sites.
    Tutorials and Forums

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Bowie Maryland USA
    Posts
    88

    Default

    The products.html page has java-script. Is it possible that you don't have java enabled? Just shooting in the dark here....

  6. #6
    Senior Member chuckj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    www.beyondfusion.com - Florida
    Posts
    1,302

    Default

    A clean miss. (-;

    Javascript and Java are two very different animals.

    I never disable Javascript in browsers and Java is installed. Or Fusion wouldn't work.

    I just checked in IE11 and your content is there, aligned to the left.

    In Firefox 25, it doesn't display at all.
    Chuck Joslin
    www.BeyondFusion.com
    PHP & MySQL development with Fusion
    Fusion support for AllWebMenus (Likno) Contact me for custom AWM menus for your sites.
    Tutorials and Forums

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,959

    Default

    yes, the page is using html 4.01 (fixed)

    it could be that you selected html 4.01 and tables in current site settings but you may have accidentally set the html output in the layout properties to 4.01, make sure it says site settings

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Bowie Maryland USA
    Posts
    88

    Default

    Anton:

    I have the Layout Properties set to HTML 4.01. When I preview that, I can wander around the hot spots and see the text and the common area at the bottom.

    If I change the Layout Properties to Site Settings, then 1) It is still left adjusted, and 2) the hot-spot texts do not consistently appear.

    On Layout Properties, the Center in Browser is checked.

    If I were to Manually direct the page to be CENTERED, WHERE would I do that?

    When I press the HTML button, I see: ("~~~") is my text to bracket the HTML text.

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0 Transitional//EN">
    <HTML>
    <HEAD>
    <TITLE> Title of Page will be generated by NetObjects Fusion 2013. </TITLE>


    <!-- NetObjects Fusion 2013 Generated HEAD HTML-->
    </HEAD>
    <BODY NetObjects Fusion 2013 Generated BODY Parameters

    >


    <!-- NetObjects Fusion 2013 Generated BODY -->


    </BODY>
    </HTML>

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Regards,
    Mike Gorman

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •