Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 32

Thread: Flyout submenus appear below page elements HTML5

  1. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    144

    Default

    Hi Anton - thanks again for your support. However note that I have deleted the iFrame in the above snapshot and problem remains. I will look at that button for to use the dynamic solution.
    So we agree NOF has an issue here that needs reporting. The last however is that other pages dont have this problem, only index.html - something different with this page but I just cant find it.

  2. #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,876

    Default

    Are you saying that it also happens with placing a textbox containing the wowslider code? If so, save site as new temp name for testing, then it is a matter of deleting one item at a time until the culprit is found, then implement the solution to the real site

  3. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,876

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
    Are you saying that it also happens with placing a textbox containing the wowslider code? If so, save site as new temp name for testing, then it is a matter of deleting one item at a time until the culprit is found, then implement the solution to the real site
    I just tested and the issue is caused by the action that is part of the button at the bottom of the page

    once this button or its action is deleted, it works fine with HTML5 and HTML5 dynamic

  4. #24
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    144

    Default

    Okay so problem is solved with a double work around - use html5 dynamic which allows the menus to appear correctly, and remove my rollover box ( that should make a counter appear but doesn't ) then the page is centered properly and the menu appears properly.
    I hope NOF fixes this so I can put my counter back again.

  5. #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,876

    Default

    you can switch back to HTML5 (no need to use dynamic)

    removing that button or its actions solves the issue

    Note: on the layout property palette, choose site setting for HTML output and in current site settings, select HTML5

    Note2: to use the button with its actions, place it in a small layout region and set the layout region HTML output to HTML 4.01 in the layout region property palette

  6. #26
    Senior Member franko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Tasmania Australia
    Posts
    2,613

    Default

    Just FYI - html 5 dynamic isn't a workaround; it's a method of overcoming the limitation imposed by fixed position coding when a page has to change length to suit variable length content. The button that Anton is talking about probably contains code that affects the layout but NoF doesn't know what that external code is. When you used fixed positioning (html 4.01 or html 5) NoF places the objects on the page where you put them; it doesn't allow for content introduced by external code (eg database output, YouTube videos or - in your case - code for an external graphic that will have both height and width attributes).

    Simple really. No external data = use html 5. External data = html 5 dynamic.

  7. #27
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    144

    Default

    @Anton - I tried it, but problem(s) remain. http://www.solarlightcap.com/test2/index.html - Using HTML5 Dynamic With the rollover button on page, wrapped in a HTML4.01 Layout Region, the whole page is not centered in browser. Under HTML5 the menu drop down is behind objects.

    Also tried to embed my calls to wowslider in a text box as you suggested using <img src=http://www.solarlightcap.com/html/2c-slides.html> but slides dont appear ( I dont want to cut and paste code each time I change the slides, so may have to stick with the inline frame method)

  8. #28
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    144

    Default

    Ahh - a good definition of dynamic. I do allow enough space for the external graphic so shouldnt need Dynamic, but something about that external graphic or maybe the rollover is messing up NOFs ability to center the page

  9. #29
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,876

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SolarLightCap View Post
    @Anton - I tried it, but problem(s) remain. http://www.solarlightcap.com/test2/index.html - Using HTML5 Dynamic With the rollover button on page, wrapped in a HTML4.01 Layout Region, the whole page is not centered in browser. Under HTML5 the menu drop down is behind objects.

    Also tried to embed my calls to wowslider in a text box as you suggested using <img src=http://www.solarlightcap.com/html/2c-slides.html> but slides dont appear ( I dont want to cut and paste code each time I change the slides, so may have to stick with the inline frame method)
    you are right, html5 dynamic causes center issues when using actions

    to correctly embed a wowslider, place the entire body code between wowslider body tags in the textbox html and make the textbox the same size as the wowslider code indicates (lock height of textbox)

    <!-- Start WOWSlider.com BODY section -->
    <div id="wowslider-container1">
    <div class="ws_images"><ul>
    <li><img src="data1/images/towers1.jpg" alt="towers1" title="towers1" id="wows1_0"/></li>
    <li><img src="data1/images/towers2.jpg" alt="towers2" title="towers2" id="wows1_1"/></li>
    <li><img src="data1/images/towers3.jpg" alt="towers3" title="towers3" id="wows1_2"/></li>
    </ul></div>
    <!-- Generated by WOWSlider.com v3.4 -->
    <div class="ws_shadow"></div>
    </div>
    <script type="text/javascript" src="engine1/wowslider.js"></script>
    <script type="text/javascript" src="engine1/script.js"></script>
    <!-- End WOWSlider.com BODY section -->

    then insert the head code in between heads of the layout html (not the masterborder html)

    <!-- Start WOWSlider.com HEAD section -->
    <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="engine1/style.css" />
    <script type="text/javascript" src="engine1/jquery.js"></script>
    <!-- End WOWSlider.com HEAD section -->


    to obtain the code, view the source of your wowslider generated html

    then use an ftp software to upload the data1 and engine1 folder to the root where the index.html is and upload the new index.html

  10. #30
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    144

    Default

    Okay folks - problem found - through process of elimination, and thanks to Anton, we now know what is different about this page, causing these "menu under" and "browser center alignment" problems.
    HTML5 code generation cant support Rollover Actions directed at show hide of other objects as seen in the picture here.

    Its a strange bug in NOF I believe.
    Over to you Netobjects - looking forward to the fix.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	nof-html5Problem-with-rolloverActions.jpg 
Views:	105 
Size:	43.1 KB 
ID:	1909

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •