Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Publish 1 page only

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    22

    Default Publish 1 page only

    I have had an SEO doing work on my site online. It is mainly all on home page.
    I wish make some alterations to Contact page and publish it.
    My concern is that it is going to publish all pages and overwrite the work on my home page.
    Where the text has added is not able to be edited offline so I can't just copy what they have done and insert offline and re publish.
    How can I publish 1 only page without affecting any others.
    Any ideas please as the work that has been done cost a few $$$.
    Thanks,
    Ken
    Last edited by Lakes; 12-17-2014 at 02:45 PM.

  2. #2
    Senior Member RayC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Toronto-ish, Canada
    Posts
    1,731

    Default

    When you click "Publish Site", the window that pops up has an option called "Pages to publish", from which you can select "Entire Site", "Current Page only" or "Select Page(s)" from which you can tick off which pages you want to publish.

    Keep in mind, if you've done any CSS "trickery" on any of your pages -- for example manually modifying the styling of an MLR -- the CSS rules for that page will be overwritten if the CSS modified page is not published.
    Ray Cambpell
    Sounds In Sync
    Linked in

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Sorry Bluesman,
    My typo. I can't just copy and past the text online added by SEO to home page when I am offline. Where it has been added to NOF 2013 home page can't be edited offline.
    If I could it would solve my issue.
    Site is www.lakeslimos.com.au line 288 home page is where they have added their bit after ./Blog/blog.html">Blog</a> . I have tried to add it here offline and it is flagged as non editable.
    Worst case is I will have to copy their text before and re insert online after I publish.
    Thanks,
    Ken

  4. #4
    Senior Member Beach Ape's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    378

    Default

    The page source doesn't look like usual NOF code. I'm guessing whoever 'SEO' is has FTP access and is rewriting the html document? I'm not entirely trustworthy of this 'SEO' by the looks of this.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Beach Ape,
    Yes they did have ftp access but not now. My saved site on pc does not have their input on home page and hence my problem of losing it when I re publish changes to contact page and any changes I do in future. If I try to copy their text online and then paste exact same position offline I get this message. Selected Navigation button 2 No properties of this object can be modified.
    Their input is the description, review & maps post at bottom of home page. Not sure why they posted it there but I need to keep it. It is in the Master border but only appears on home page.

  6. #6
    Senior Member gotFusion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    www.gotHosting.biz
    Posts
    4,526

    Default

    This gotFusion tutorial will explain your publish options:

    http://www.gotfusion.com/tutorials/tut.cfm?itemID=4091

    This gotFusion tutorial will explain where you insert code within the Fusion GUI

    http://www.gotfusion.com/tutorials/tut.cfm?itemID=4068

    Here is another gotFusion tutorial on how to get coding in all pages or just one

    http://www.gotfusion.com/tutorials/tut.cfm?itemID=382

    As far as NOT overwriting... Use an FTP program and download a copy of the edited page to your computer somewhere. That way should you foobar things, you can just upload the saved page and you are back where you started.

    Here is the gotFusion tutorial on using Filezilla which is a popular open source (i.e. free) FTP software. The settings are for gotFusion hosting so ask your host what you need to use as far as the connection details

    http://www.gotfusion.com/tutorials/tut.cfm?itemID=4066

    Most decent web hosts keep daily backups (I keep daily backups of all accounts and retain them for 14 days). ASK YOUR HOST if they keep backups of your http, email, database and other accounts and ask them how frequently these are grabbed. IF they don't or if they say once a week or "when ever" you should find a better host that keeps daily backups. That way you can fiddle things up as much as you want and a simple request to your host will put things back together
    NetObjects Fusion Cloud Linux enabled Web Hosting, support + training starts at $14.95
    NetObjects Fusion web Hosting and support + ASP + PHP + ColdFusion + MySQL + MS SQL
    FREE NetObjects Fusion Support & training comes with all web hosting accounts
    NetObjects Fusion Web Hosting: http://www.gotHosting.biz

  7. #7
    Senior Member Beach Ape's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    378

    Default

    If there was vote, most helpful or like button to push, I'd do it on Mike's post.

    Take your time and do through the exercises Lakes and you'll be okay. I hope you fired the SEO flim flam man.

  8. #8

    Default

    Reading this thread, I find they when I tell NOF 13 to Publish either Current Page, or Selected Pages, it publishes videos from pages NOT on Current Page, or Selected Pages. Am I the only one this happens to? So, regards the original post on this thread, I would be weary of overwriting too.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •