Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Some Stupid Newcomer Questions

  1. #1
    Junior Member Kira Resari's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    11

    Question Some Stupid Newcomer Questions

    Hello everyone,

    my name is Kira Resari, and I have just created my first website using Net Objects Fusion Essentials (If this post is in the wrong forum, please kindly move it to the correct one).

    While I'm mostly pleased with how it turned out, there are a few things I couldn't figure out, and would like some advice on.

    For reference, here's the website: www.tri-tail.com
    ---

    Question 1: How to make hover-effects?

    I have several graphics serving as buttons, and would like to have a hover-effect on them when the mouse is over them. I already have the hover-graphics prepared, but I have no idea how to implement this. What is the best way to do so?

    Examples: The nav bar; The "Zeal"-banner on the main page

    ---

    Question 2: How to add favicons?

    I am talking about the icon that appears to the left of the website's name in the tab (like the square root on this forum). I already have an icon prepared, and would like to add it to my page. How do I best go about this?

    ---

    Question 3: How to add tooltips on hotspots?

    On http://www.tri-tail.com/Zeal/zeal.html , subpage "World" (direct link doesn't work, see below) I have an image with hotspots. I have already added Alt-tags to each of the hotspots, but they are not displayed when hovering over the elements (unlike the Alt-tags when hovering over normal graphics, which are displayed correctly). How can I display the Alt-tags (or alternatively, tooltips) when hovering over a hotspot.

    Extension: Can I make a hover effect for the hotspots, and if yes, how?

    ---

    Question 4: How to make user-friendly page adresses?

    Currently, I have babylonic page adresses like
    Code:
    http://www.tri-tail.com/Zeal/Zeal---World/zeal---world.html
    , which are automatically generated by the programm (and don't even work as direct links, because forums automaticall convert it into: http://www.tri-tail.com/Zeal/Zeal---...l---world.html ). What I would like would be an adress like " http://www.tri-tail.com/Zeal/world.html ", but still have "Zeal ~ World" displayed as the page title. Can I do that, and if yes, how?

    ---

    Thank you already for your answers.
    Chase your dreams, or your dreams will chase you.

  2. #2
    Senior Member chuckj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    www.beyondfusion.com - Florida
    Posts
    1,302

    Default

    I'll take #1 and #2...

    1. Use the Picture Rollover tool in Standard Components.

    2. Upload your favicon file to the root of your site. You can ftp it yourself or you can add it as an asset in Asset View.
    Chuck Joslin
    www.BeyondFusion.com
    PHP & MySQL development with Fusion
    Fusion support for AllWebMenus (Likno) Contact me for custom AWM menus for your sites.
    Tutorials and Forums

  3. #3
    Senior Member gotFusion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    www.gotHosting.biz
    Posts
    4,526

    Default

    OK Chuck I'll take the hard ones

    Hover tool tips:

    Tooltip hovers are best done using dhtml, javasript. ajax, or css which are external scripting languages. You can find pre-written scripts you can insert into Fusion at several repositories.

    I'll give you the google link I used to locate several for you.

    https://www.google.com/search?q=dhtm...utf-8&oe=utf-8

    Find one you like and insert the scripts using this tutorial

    http://www.gotfusion.com/tutorials/tut.cfm?itemID=4068

    User friendly URLS:

    Fusion will take what you used as your "page name" at the time you created the page and automatically use it as the page title and html document name as well as the banner text and button text.

    You can modify this in site view on the properties palette

    http://www.gotfusion.com/tutorials/tut.cfm?itemID=242

    The site construction (where pages are located) is controlled in Publish View. You have several options.

    http://www.gotfusion.com/tutorials/tut.cfm?itemID=181

    http://www.gotfusion.com/tutorials/tut.cfm?itemID=182

    Page names (the name of the html document) should be as short as you can make them. Here is my SEO tutorial that has a lot of this info located in it which you should find helpful

    http://www.gotfusion.com/tutorials/tut.cfm?itemID=4051
    NetObjects Fusion Cloud Linux enabled Web Hosting, support + training starts at $14.95
    NetObjects Fusion web Hosting and support + ASP + PHP + ColdFusion + MySQL + MS SQL
    FREE NetObjects Fusion Support & training comes with all web hosting accounts
    NetObjects Fusion Web Hosting: http://www.gotHosting.biz

  4. #4
    Senior Member chuckj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    www.beyondfusion.com - Florida
    Posts
    1,302

    Default

    Awwww... those aren't hard... I just wanted to spread the fun around.
    Chuck Joslin
    www.BeyondFusion.com
    PHP & MySQL development with Fusion
    Fusion support for AllWebMenus (Likno) Contact me for custom AWM menus for your sites.
    Tutorials and Forums

  5. #5
    Senior Member gotFusion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    www.gotHosting.biz
    Posts
    4,526

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chuckj View Post
    Awwww... those aren't hard... I just wanted to spread the fun around.
    You know I was just jerking your chain

    No question is a hard question unless you are the one asking it
    NetObjects Fusion Cloud Linux enabled Web Hosting, support + training starts at $14.95
    NetObjects Fusion web Hosting and support + ASP + PHP + ColdFusion + MySQL + MS SQL
    FREE NetObjects Fusion Support & training comes with all web hosting accounts
    NetObjects Fusion Web Hosting: http://www.gotHosting.biz

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    France...ex UK
    Posts
    596

    Default

    Another NOF 2015 newbie....where do I select Fixed PAge?? It used to be under Layout Properties/HTML Output drop down options, but I dont see it there nymore....?

  7. #7
    Senior Member chuckj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    www.beyondfusion.com - Florida
    Posts
    1,302

    Default

    Choose HTML 4.01 for "fixed" layout.

    But why?
    Chuck Joslin
    www.BeyondFusion.com
    PHP & MySQL development with Fusion
    Fusion support for AllWebMenus (Likno) Contact me for custom AWM menus for your sites.
    Tutorials and Forums

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    France...ex UK
    Posts
    596

    Default

    Thanks.....why? I sometimes want to overlap images/text etc.....is there another better way?

  9. #9
    Senior Member gotFusion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    www.gotHosting.biz
    Posts
    4,526

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gprit View Post
    Thanks.....why? I sometimes want to overlap images/text etc.....is there another better way?
    You can use this method to over lap anything

    http://www.gotfusion.com/tutorials/tut.cfm?itemID=4027
    NetObjects Fusion Cloud Linux enabled Web Hosting, support + training starts at $14.95
    NetObjects Fusion web Hosting and support + ASP + PHP + ColdFusion + MySQL + MS SQL
    FREE NetObjects Fusion Support & training comes with all web hosting accounts
    NetObjects Fusion Web Hosting: http://www.gotHosting.biz

  10. #10
    Junior Member Kira Resari's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Munich
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chuckj View Post
    I'll take #1 and #2...

    1. Use the Picture Rollover tool in Standard Components.

    2. Upload your favicon file to the root of your site. You can ftp it yourself or you can add it as an asset in Asset View.
    Okay, I tried doing that but...

    1. When I use the Picture Rollover Tool, all I get is a gray rectangle, and a dead link ("The files at /G:/Programs/NETOBJ~1/NetObjects System/complink.gif couldn't be found"). How do I make it work?

    2. I have added my favicon in the assets view, and named it "favicon", but for some reason, it still doesn't get displayed. What am I doing wrong?

    Oh, and also...
    After I noticed that it didn't work, I wanted to exit without saving, in order to fall back to an earlier version.
    However, I found out that NOF automatically saved at some point, and so now I have a broken version. How can I prevent that?
    Chase your dreams, or your dreams will chase you.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •