Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 34

Thread: How do I change an HREF TargetName

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Bowie Maryland USA
    Posts
    79

    Default How do I change an HREF TargetName

    Hi guys:

    Every blue moon or so I make changes to my website. I am using NOF 2015 with Update#1

    I made a page with a very long name, such as: SoldierUnderFireFranticallyDiggingFoxHole

    After a while, that should have been, "duck." So, I change the page title to "Duck."

    When I generate the site, I keep getting the original HREF name, that is, SoldierUnderFireFranticallyDiggingFoxHole.htm.

    What I really want the browser to show is: Duck.html.

    I cannot figure out where to make that change.

    Hope you can help.

    Regards,
    Mike Gorman

  2. #2
    Senior Member franko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Tasmania Australia
    Posts
    2,613

    Default

    In Site View Properties Box there's a tab for custom names. You can define the page title and what appears in the banner and on navigation button.

  3. #3
    Senior Member gotFusion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    www.gotHosting.biz
    Posts
    4,526

    Default

    This tutorial should sort you out

    http://www.gotfusion.com/tutorials/tut.cfm?itemID=242

    This tutorial should help explain about long and short names, titles, and descriptions as well as a few other "inter bits"

    http://www.gotfusion.com/tutorials/tut.cfm?itemID=4051
    NetObjects Fusion Cloud Linux enabled Web Hosting, support + training starts at $14.95
    NetObjects Fusion web Hosting and support + ASP + PHP + ColdFusion + MySQL + MS SQL
    FREE NetObjects Fusion Support & training comes with all web hosting accounts
    NetObjects Fusion Web Hosting: http://www.gotHosting.biz

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Bowie Maryland USA
    Posts
    79

    Default

    Franko.... thanks for the pointer... However that doesn't do it.

    Here's the generated HTML page HRef name: C:\Users\Michael Gorman\Documents\NetObjects Fusion 2015\User Sites\WisWeb15\Local Publish\whitemarshpositiveroifromproject-1.html

    Here's what the Page Title is: ImmediateReturnOnInvestment

    How do I get my HTML page name to be the SAME as the Page Title

    I was able to get the F11 page properties, and it says, ImmediateReturnOnInvestment

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Bowie Maryland USA
    Posts
    79

    Default

    GotFusionGuy:

    Thanks for the pointer... However that doesn't do it. I brought up the tutorial and finally figured out that F11 brings up the Page Properties. But no cigar.

    Here's the generated HTML page HRef name: C:\Users\Michael Gorman\Documents\NetObjects Fusion 2015\User Sites\WisWeb15\Local Publish\whitemarshpositiveroifromproject-1.html

    Here's what the Page Title is: ImmediateReturnOnInvestment

    How do I get my HTML page name to be the SAME as the Page Title

    I was able to get the F11 page properties, and it says, ImmediateReturnOnInvestment

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,876

    Default

    if you want both the same, you need to type the page name to be the same as the page title, I usually do this in site view
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Anton-0692.jpg 
Views:	95 
Size:	67.3 KB 
ID:	2252  

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Bowie Maryland USA
    Posts
    79

    Default

    Anton.... For sure I can get the site to show in Structured form. I cannot seem to get the page to then show page properties. Under Outline, and then once the page is displayed, I hit F11. and it shows me a Page Panels property.

    Here is what's there for Name: ImmediateReturnOnInvestment
    Here is what's there for Page Title: ImmediateReturnOnInvestment
    Here is what's there for Custom Names Navigation button: ImmediateReturnOnInvestment
    Here is what's there for Banner: ImmediateReturnOnInvestment

    Now, when I do a Local Publish Site with Pages to publish: Entire Site, that particular page's URL is:

    C:\Users\Michael Gorman\Documents\NetObjects Fusion 2015\User Sites\WisWeb17\Local Publish\whitemarshpositiveroifromproject-1.html

    How do I get the "whitemarshpositiveroifromproject-1.html" to be "ImmediateReturnOnInvestment.html"

    THAT is my question....

    Is there some "check box" that I must have accidently checked that "freezes" the page's HREF?

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,876

    Default

    can you go to site view and tell me the name inside the yellow page place holder, if wrong, rename it there by briefly clicking that name

    if above is correct, go to publish view, publish menu, arrange files and click clear customizations, this will for sure fix it

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Bowie Maryland USA
    Posts
    79

    Default

    Anton:

    By that do you mean adjacent. E.g., <Yellow Icon for Page> <page name>

    In the case we're talking about, the name is "ImmediateReturnOnInvestement"

    If that's not where you mean, then please redirect me.

    I can, if you would like set up a GoToMeeting session.

  10. #10
    Senior Member chuckj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    www.beyondfusion.com - Florida
    Posts
    1,302

    Default

    Check and see if you have two pages with the same name. This could be your problem. Fusion will add the -1 to the second one.
    Chuck Joslin
    www.BeyondFusion.com
    PHP & MySQL development with Fusion
    Fusion support for AllWebMenus (Likno) Contact me for custom AWM menus for your sites.
    Tutorials and Forums

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •