Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Navigation Menu Won't Work in Layout Region in Top Border

  1. #1

    Default Navigation Menu Won't Work in Layout Region in Top Border

    If I put a nav-menu in a layout region in the page header border the fly-outs are behind the images and text in the page below.

    The menu works OK in a layout region in the page.

    It also works in the header if it is in a box but not if it is in an actual layout region.

    I want it to be in a layout region because I want the background to match the layout regions in the pages which have a graphic background.

    I have attached a couple of screen-captures to illustrate.

    The first menu is not in a layout region

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Menu - OK.png 
Views:	293 
Size:	148.0 KB 
ID:	2296

    This menu is in a layout region - The flyouts disappear behind the contents of the page below.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Menu in Layout Region- Not OK.png 
Views:	277 
Size:	113.8 KB 
ID:	2297

    Any suggestions?

    Can you have a graphic background to a rectangle? That would bw a work-around

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Senior Member gprit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    France...ex UK
    Posts
    595

    Default

    Don't think you can have a graphic background to a rectangle...but no need for that!
    I had exactly the same issue the past week......see my recent post
    Menu is behind Text/image
    Started by gprit, 1 Day Ago

    Select the menu navigation
    Edit CSS Property Sheet / Position
    Set z-index to 9999

    Think that should work.

  3. #3

    Default

    Thanks for the reference - I have tried that but it makes no diff. I only have this problem when the menu is in a layout region in the header part of the border.

    (I thought I had replied to this thread earlier but I don't see the reply. Sorry if I am repeating.)

  4. #4
    Senior Member gprit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    France...ex UK
    Posts
    595

    Default

    Yes...my problem was also in a layout region....
    Did you use a NOF template?
    Do you have a link to the problem?

  5. #5
    Senior Member gprit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    France...ex UK
    Posts
    595

    Default

    If you would like to PM me and send an exported template I'd be happy to have a look.

  6. #6

    Default

    I did not use a template - Started from scratch. I have sent a PM.

  7. #7
    Senior Member chuckj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    www.beyondfusion.com - Florida
    Posts
    1,302

    Default

    Do you have autoframes turned on by any chance?
    Chuck Joslin
    www.BeyondFusion.com
    PHP & MySQL development with Fusion
    Fusion support for AllWebMenus (Likno) Contact me for custom AWM menus for your sites.
    Tutorials and Forums

  8. #8

    Default

    Nope.

    Interesting question\point. I'm not using autoframes but I see that if I switch the top border to a frame it reproduces the same bad behavior, even when I am not using a Layout Region. So I imagine that gives us a clue.

  9. #9
    Senior Member gprit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    France...ex UK
    Posts
    595

    Default

    Resolved via PM - issued here for others.
    Hello Sean - have had a look at this now...
    1) the menus now work, overlapping both a rectangle and a text box with text.
    Did this by a) setting the menu position to 9999 and b) setting the Text Box and Rectangle position to -1

    Really a not easy way to achieve this is it? Why don't they just put a command in so that you can choose an object and then 'bring forward' 'Send backward' etc!!
    I upgraded direct from NOF10 to NOF 2015 and before the upgrade I never knew z-index existed, let alone change them

  10. #10

    Default

    Thanks Graham. I had tried setting the menu to +999 but that was not enough on its own.

    I notice that your example, in which the menu works correctly, had the offending objects in a LR. I experimented with that and noticed that if you take the objects out of the LR, the text-box works OK if its z-pos is -1 but the rectangle doesn't work. But they both work, regardless of their z-pos, if they are in the LR that has a z-pos of -1. I suppose it is a container of sorts.

    Yes - Most inconvenient not having a move to front \ move to back option. I guess they just lie their in the order they were created. I often just cut and re-paste an object if I want it to be on top.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •