Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 46

Thread: Help please : Setting up email on my site

  1. #21
    Senior Member RayC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Toronto-ish, Canada
    Posts
    1,731

    Default

    When you use an image for the button, it can only be used as "Submit".
    Ray Cambpell
    Sounds In Sync
    Linked in

  2. #22
    Member Metal Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Portsmouth, England
    Posts
    98

    Default

    I don't understand that statement, when I place the button graphic I can select 5 options not just one. As in pictures if I select "image" the button stays there, but if I select "Submit" the button disappears.
    Attachment 2422Attachment 2423

  3. #23
    Senior Member RayC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Toronto-ish, Canada
    Posts
    1,731

    Default

    The other four options (other than "Image") apply to the text-style buttons. When you select option 5,"Image", you can then pick a graphic to represent the button, but it is designated as a "Submit" button.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	submit-options.png 
Views:	102 
Size:	22.4 KB 
ID:	2424
    Last edited by RayC; 05-04-2016 at 11:41 AM.
    Ray Cambpell
    Sounds In Sync
    Linked in

  4. #24
    Member Metal Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Portsmouth, England
    Posts
    98

    Default

    Well either way I still can't get the buttons to do anything Web Address is : mervs-music.co.uk

  5. #25
    Senior Member RayC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Toronto-ish, Canada
    Posts
    1,731

    Default

    Well, everything looks OK. The Reset button works for me. I also attempted to submit a form. Not sure if it worked, but there was an error because the "Success" page was not found.

    Did you get the form submission?

    One other thing I noticed was some errant code appearing as text in the top corner of your page.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	merv.png 
Views:	103 
Size:	5.6 KB 
ID:	2425

    This tends to happen when HTML is inserted but is missing a tag or some opening/closing symbol.

    It appears in the output code near the end of the page. Note the "=3tM" before your final closing </div> tag. Perhaps you experimented with embedding HTML but didn't remove it all?

    HTML Code:
          <div id="NavigationBar2LYR" style="text-align: left; z-index: 1000;" class="TextNavBar"><a class="nof-navPositioning" href="../index.html">HOME</a>&nbsp;&nbsp; <a class="nof-navPositioning" href="../ABOUT-ME/about-me.html">ABOUT&nbsp;ME</a>&nbsp;&nbsp; <a class="nof-navPositioning" href="../MUSIC-SCOPE/music-scope.html">MUSIC&nbsp;SCOPE</a>&nbsp;&nbsp; <a class="nof-navPositioning" href="../TESTIMONIALS/testimonials.html">TESTIMONIALS</a>&nbsp;&nbsp; CONTACT&nbsp; </div>
          <div id="Picture2LYR" style="line-height: 0"><img id="Picture2" height="250" width="1025" src="../Banner.png" alt="Banner" title="Banner"></div>
        </div>
        =3tM
      </div>
    </body>
    </html>
    Ray Cambpell
    Sounds In Sync
    Linked in

  6. #26
    Member Metal Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Portsmouth, England
    Posts
    98

    Default

    I have deleted the "3tm" I think that was when I tried code to insert a ready made feedback form (that had advertising on it) that I didn't keep.
    I never received your email.
    I have tried to link a pop up window to the send button, but it still seems to do nothing. if I click "preview and set" it say it wants to download something to my computer then locks up if I say yes, pictures added
    Attachment 2428Attachment 2429Attachment 2430
    Last edited by Metal Man; 05-06-2016 at 08:33 AM.

  7. #27
    Member Metal Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Portsmouth, England
    Posts
    98

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Metal Man View Post
    I have deleted the "3tm" I think that was when I tried code to insert a ready made feedback form (that had advertising on it) that I didn't keep.
    I never received your email.
    I have tried to link a pop up window to the send button, but it still seems to do nothing. if I click "preview and set" it say it wants to download something to my computer then locks up if I say yes, pictures added
    Attachment 2428Attachment 2429Attachment 2430
    I've been trying various options, but I've got no further, A few questions

    Am I on the right lines with a pop up message.
    It seems to indicate I need another page for the Thank You Message.
    If I add a page to the contact page it also shows in the site menu, which defeats the purpose.

  8. #28
    Senior Member RayC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Toronto-ish, Canada
    Posts
    1,731

    Default

    I've never tried a popup for this. Just create a separate page for the "Thank You" and link to that. For the Thank You page, you can set it to "Exclude from Navigation" from Site View where it shows the site structure.
    Ray Cambpell
    Sounds In Sync
    Linked in

  9. #29
    Member Metal Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Portsmouth, England
    Posts
    98

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RayC View Post
    I've never tried a popup for this. Just create a separate page for the "Thank You" and link to that. For the Thank You page, you can set it to "Exclude from Navigation" from Site View where it shows the site structure.
    Well I don't know, Still no success and you are the only person to really offer any help.

    I made a new page, a child of the contact page, told it to exclude from navigation, Went to the send button, right click select add task, then I get a edit task box I can put what I like in that, it makes no difference.
    If I click the icon at the top for link I get a link box, again I haven't a clue what to select, I've tried telling it to link to thank you page but it makes no difference when I click link it goes back to the previous box which is empty, It also has a box for Data source !!!.
    To be honest I'm ready to give up.
    What a waste of money (to me at least) Through all of this I have never received any email that you or I have sent

    Photo's added but they probably won't help.
    Attachment 2434Attachment 2435Attachment 2436Attachment 2437
    Last edited by Metal Man; 05-06-2016 at 02:48 PM. Reason: more info

  10. #30
    Senior Member franko's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Tasmania Australia
    Posts
    2,613

    Default

    You cannot name an object with two words separated by a space. This is the same in most if not all scripting languages that I'm aware of. Rename your window ThankYou. Don't know if that's the cause of your problem but it certainly won't help.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •