Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Missing Navigation bar

  1. #1
    Senior Member gprit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    France...ex UK
    Posts
    595

    Default Missing Navigation bar

    http://www.libertybs.co.uk

    Been frustrated by this all morning!
    As you will see, the navigation bar is missing.
    However, if I remove the video that I inserted on the page then it appears and works as it should - for the life of me I cannot see the connection.
    Have tried setting navigation z-index.
    Tried placing video in a Layout Region.

    What I would say is that I previously had a different .mp4 video there and all was ok.....

    The current video was converted to .mp4 from a .flv file but can't see why that should affect things.

    One for Anton maybe?

    Any thoughts?

    thanks

  2. #2
    Senior Member Trimdoner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Durham, UK
    Posts
    214

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gprit View Post
    http://www.libertybs.co.uk

    Been frustrated by this all morning!
    As you will see, the navigation bar is missing.
    However, if I remove the video that I inserted on the page then it appears and works as it should - for the life of me I cannot see the connection.
    Have tried setting navigation z-index.
    Tried placing video in a Layout Region.

    What I would say is that I previously had a different .mp4 video there and all was ok.....

    The current video was converted to .mp4 from a .flv file but can't see why that should affect things.

    One for Anton maybe?

    Any thoughts?

    thanks
    You've got "display: none" in the source code for the nav bar - it's set to hidden somewhere !

  3. #3
    Senior Member gprit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    France...ex UK
    Posts
    595

    Default

    Interesting...hadn't noticed that...but WHY is it ok if I delete the video!!??
    What is it about the video that must be causing that?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,947

    Default

    display: none is normal for the navbar

    can you change the doctype so it is not loose
    <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/loose.dtd">

    in settings, tick quirks mode to fix the doctype
    https://www.videoproductions.com.au/...uirks-mode.png

  5. #5
    Senior Member gprit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    France...ex UK
    Posts
    595

    Default

    ok...but no change...

    btw this is also the situation in Local Publish.
    Last edited by gprit; 02-25-2018 at 02:19 PM.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,947

    Default

    can you reply with the entire video player code that you inserted so I can try

    also, you are now using HTML5 but with the wrong char set, you need UTF8
    https://www.videoproductions.com.au/NOF15/UTF8.png
    Last edited by antonsvideo; 02-26-2018 at 12:19 AM.

  7. #7
    Senior Member gprit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    France...ex UK
    Posts
    595

    Default

    Ah yes....forgot about that bit to change, thanks. Still same issue though.
    As this is my live website I have moved the issue to: http://www.libertybs.co.uk/clients/liberty/
    so that I can present the 'live' one correctly. Have replaced the video with 'coming soon'.....and having done that, the navigation bar displays correctly...strange.

    I checked the source codes against each other and they are identical!!!!...yet they produce different results.....

    Anton - cannot attach anything here....allocation all taken up so have emailed you separately with the original video (.flv) and the converted one (.mp4)
    thanks
    Last edited by gprit; 02-26-2018 at 03:20 AM.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,947

    Default

    I have not received anything yet

    can you describe how the video was inserted? the code used? or Nof tool used?

  9. #9
    Senior Member gprit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    France...ex UK
    Posts
    595

    Default

    Hello Anton - sent about 15 minutes ago...email plus videos via Wetransfer.

    The cideo was inserted onto page using the inbuilt NOF Video function.

  10. #10
    Senior Member gprit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    France...ex UK
    Posts
    595

    Default

    update....never got to the bottom of WHY the inbuilt NOF Video action caused the menu to disappear.....
    ...but with help from Anton the video and navigation now show/work ok.

    The solution (for future reference) was to include the video in an iframe within a Text box.
    At first it would not play full screen, so added a few more lines to ensure it did.
    Working code:

    <iframe width="560" height="315"
    frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media"
    src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/LRJichO2aV8?rel=0"
    allowfullscreen="allowfullscreen"
    mozallowfullscreen="mozallowfullscreen"
    msallowfullscreen="msallowfullscreen"
    oallowfullscreen="oallowfullscreen"
    webkitallowfullscreen="webkitallowfullscreen"> </iframe>

    thanks Anton for your help.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •