Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Text Fields causing Page layout changes

  1. #1

    Default Text Fields causing Page layout changes

    Franko helped me, in another thread...thanks!...to place some "Add to Cart" buttons to my store.

    He told me how to create small text boxes, and then insert the Button html code into them.
    I lock the height of the box as he instructed (although I still don't understand what that does).
    The Add to Cart buttons appear on the Page Preview (Publish) view and all is good!

    I was also told to size the box to the button size (120x33)...which is difficult but I have them close.
    (I have since tried making them smaller, I guess they resize themselves, but the buttons are still visible and correct.)

    My problem is...
    wherever the text field/button is placed, it will shift everything after it (on the page) down a bit.
    Not a lot, but enough to be obvious and it stretches out the page with every button placement.


    I also have to be careful about where a text field is placed, because if the next page item is on the same level (horizontally)
    it will be shift to the right, or way down the page!

    I have attached images of the page to illustrate the spacing issue.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	PAGE DESIGN VIEW 1A.jpg 
Views:	12 
Size:	170.8 KB 
ID:	2807Click image for larger version. 

Name:	PAGE PUBLISH VIEW 1A.jpg 
Views:	11 
Size:	97.3 KB 
ID:	2808


    My page is set up "Dynamic page Layout - all browsers".
    It is the best of all options, where the other settings give wild page changes. (Regular Tables or Fixed Page Layout).
    I have tried these other settings, and looked for other ways to eliminate this problem.

    How do I stop things from shifting like this?
    NoF v10...Windows 7...and a stiff drink...I'm good to go.

  2. #2
    Senior Member chuckj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    www.beyondfusion.com - Florida
    Posts
    1,284

    Default

    Publish your page locally and see how it looks.

    Page Preview isn't always accurate.
    Chuck Joslin
    www.BeyondFusion.com
    PHP & MySQL development with Fusion
    Fusion support for AllWebMenus (Likno) Contact me for custom AWM menus for your sites.
    Tutorials and Forums

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chuckj View Post
    Publish your page locally and see how it looks.

    Page Preview isn't always accurate.
    Good point...I hadn't actually tried that.

    Unfortunately, its the same effect...same problem.
    Added spacing after each Button.
    NoF v10...Windows 7...and a stiff drink...I'm good to go.

  4. #4
    Senior Member chuckj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    www.beyondfusion.com - Florida
    Posts
    1,284

    Default

    Can you post the code for one of your buttons? Or better yet, publish a page to your web server and provide the URL.
    Chuck Joslin
    www.BeyondFusion.com
    PHP & MySQL development with Fusion
    Fusion support for AllWebMenus (Likno) Contact me for custom AWM menus for your sites.
    Tutorials and Forums

  5. #5

    Default

    I'm not ready to publish any pages yet...I don't want to update just one page.
    I want to get the entire site updated first, and then replace the store completely.
    because I am switching the order and payment system for the entire store.
    Am I explaining that properly?

    As far as the buttons are concerned, its the code that Paypal gives you to create an "Add to Cart" button for each item that I log there.
    Here is the html for one of the buttons...

    Code as I get it from Paypal:
    <form target="paypal" action="https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr" method="post">
    <input type="hidden" name="cmd" value="_s-xclick">
    <input type="hidden" name="hosted_button_id" value="EK2L6S9FKT6EY">
    <input type="image" src="https://www.paypalobjects.com/en_US/i/btn/btn_cart_LG.gif" border="0" name="submit" alt="PayPal - The safer, easier way to pay online!">
    <img alt="" border="0" src="https://www.paypalobjects.com/en_US/i/scr/pixel.gif" width="1" height="1">
    </form>

    Code how it looks after its inserted into the text box (which I placed for the Button):
    <p><form target="paypal" action="https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr" method="post">
    <input type="hidden" name="cmd" value="_s-xclick">
    <input type="hidden" name="hosted_button_id" value="EK2L6S9FKT6EY">
    <input type="image" src="https://www.paypalobjects.com/en_US/i/btn/btn_cart_LG.gif" border="0" name="submit" alt="PayPal - The safer, easier way to pay online!">
    <img alt="" border="0" src="https://www.paypalobjects.com/en_US/i/scr/pixel.gif" width="1" height="1">
    </form>&nbsp;</p>
    Last edited by airdave; 1 Week Ago at 11:24 PM.
    NoF v10...Windows 7...and a stiff drink...I'm good to go.

  6. #6
    Senior Member chuckj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    www.beyondfusion.com - Florida
    Posts
    1,284

    Default

    I haven't done a site with PayPal buttons in a while.

    I looked at the last one I did and it was set to publish as HTML5 and have no additional space like you're getting.

    I changed to Dynamic temporarily as a test and the space below issue arose.

    This is in Fusion 2015, of course.
    Chuck Joslin
    www.BeyondFusion.com
    PHP & MySQL development with Fusion
    Fusion support for AllWebMenus (Likno) Contact me for custom AWM menus for your sites.
    Tutorials and Forums

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chuckj View Post
    I haven't done a site with PayPal buttons in a while.
    I looked at the last one I did and it was set to publish as HTML5 and have no additional space like you're getting.
    I changed to Dynamic temporarily as a test and the space below issue arose.
    This is in Fusion 2015, of course.
    Well Dynamic gives me the least issue....page layout stays where it should, just adds spacing as I've shown.
    I can control where the spacing appears by moving things around a little bit.

    I don't have the time right now to learn the new NoF or rebuild the entire site.
    So, for now I have to work in NoF10
    NoF v10...Windows 7...and a stiff drink...I'm good to go.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •