Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: TabTop and Forms Handler =PHP scripts and PHP >5.5 + default_charset=UTF-8

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    7

    Question TabTop and Forms Handler =PHP scripts and PHP >5.5 + default_charset=UTF-8

    Our hosting company changes the PHP version from 5.5 to 7.0 and the default_charset is to be UTF-8. I changed the settings in NOF 2015 /Tools->Options->Current S`ite to UTF-8 but in php scripts e.g. TabTop and Forms Handler, despite the reintroduction of specific signs of the Eastern European alphabet, strange erroneous characters are displayed.
    How to solve this problem ?


    I am asking for help and thank you for the tips.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,947

    Default

    ask your host to change php for your account to version 5.6

    I am a host and I can change that in 5 seconds on a user account basis

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
    ask your host to change php for your account to version 5.6

    I am a host and I can change that in 5 seconds on a user account basis

    Version PHP 5.5 is the last one without default_charset. 5.6 has default_charset = UTF-8 and is the same problem as 7. Is there a way to change charset for PHP 5.6 to Windows-1250 ?

    Maciej

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,947

    Default

    ask your host to set php 5.5 for your account, takes 5 sec
    https://www.videoproductions.com.au/NOF15/php-5.5.png

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
    ask your host to set php 5.5 for your account, takes 5 sec
    https://www.videoproductions.com.au/NOF15/php-5.5.png

    OK, Thank you for the advice. Our hosting company changes the version to 7 for security reasons

    Does anyone know how to set default_charset on Windows 1250 for PHP version 7 ? ( php.ini or .htaccess ? ) Version 7 is faster and safer. Our hosting company changes the version to 7 for security reasons.

    Maciej

  6. #6

    Default

    Look.... Anton has said it twice...whether your hosting company has done it for 'security' or not, they can easily change it back for each individual client....and then your form would work...

    If they don't then perhaps you need to consider changing Hosting companies.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,947

    Default

    yes, it is save to set one or more users to 5.5 or 5.6 as this does not cause any security issues to the server itself, if your host says otherwise, he is lying

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by antonsvideo View Post
    yes, it is save to set one or more users to 5.5 or 5.6 as this does not cause any security issues to the server itself, if your host says otherwise, he is lying
    Thank you all for the activity and advice. Problem solved by converting critical files to UTF-8 standard in Notepad ++. The whole works under PHP 7.2 and it's better this way.

    Maciej

  9. #9

    Default

    Thank u so much for taking time to help. 9apps cartoonhd
    Last edited by singhharry12; 08-18-2020 at 01:31 PM.

  10. #10

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •