Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: text w/image rollover

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    29

    Default text w/image rollover

    Hi again,
    Does anyone know another EASY free script to achieve this? The one at Dynamic Drive.com is awesome, but I can't figure out how to use it (despite how simple it seems) and I've got a big goose egg in their forum. I want to create a list, ie. dog-cat-horse, and the image of a dog would pop up on mouse over.
    suggestions?
    RG

  2. #2
    Senior Member gotFusion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    www.gotHosting.biz
    Posts
    4,529

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RG7209 View Post
    Hi again,
    Does anyone know another EASY free script to achieve this? The one at Dynamic Drive.com is awesome, but I can't figure out how to use it (despite how simple it seems) and I've got a big goose egg in their forum. I want to create a list, ie. dog-cat-horse, and the image of a dog would pop up on mouse over.
    suggestions?
    RG
    They are all going to require the same insertion method.

    What is the URL for the one you wanted to use at DD.com?
    NetObjects Fusion Cloud Linux enabled Web Hosting, support + training starts at $14.95
    NetObjects Fusion web Hosting and support + ASP + PHP + ColdFusion + MySQL + MS SQL
    FREE NetObjects Fusion Support & training comes with all web hosting accounts
    NetObjects Fusion Web Hosting: http://www.gotHosting.biz

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    29

    Default

    here:
    http://dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex4/imagetooltip.htm

    The example "link 4" is what I need. They don't show where exactly to insert the defined tooltips, it says "near the top". I need some to walk me thru it I guess. What bums me out is that I know it's simple but, still over my head

  4. #4
    Senior Member gotFusion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    www.gotHosting.biz
    Posts
    4,529

    Default

    Are you comfortable using a 3rd party FTP program to get some of the "bits" in the proper location?

    that is a rather complex bit of kit there. It uses a separate CSS file and a separate javascript file that needs to be uploaded along with some calls that need to be inserted into the document head. This is all rather easy to do if you are hand coding but will take some finessing to get Fusion to do it for you and get everything in the proper location. You will also have to edit the files to insert the names and location of your images.

    What is the URL where you want to use this (your web site)? so I can see how you are publishing.
    NetObjects Fusion Cloud Linux enabled Web Hosting, support + training starts at $14.95
    NetObjects Fusion web Hosting and support + ASP + PHP + ColdFusion + MySQL + MS SQL
    FREE NetObjects Fusion Support & training comes with all web hosting accounts
    NetObjects Fusion Web Hosting: http://www.gotHosting.biz

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    352

    Default

    They mean in the file called ddimgtooltip.js

    Here is a text version Attachment 107 of the .js file called ddimgtooltip.js with the tooltips "near the top"

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    29

    Default

    oh, boy. Well, I haven't published the site yet cuz I'm still building it and when I do, it will replace my current site. OH WAIT,
    I can use my current site to try and figure it out! I can create an extra page just to try it. My current site is : http://twodogsandapig.com/index.html
    there's a link to a test page at the very bottom past my nav bar.
    So, where it says to download the 2 external files, where should I properly place them? I put them in one of the folders that I using for the new site, but should they be in a root directory or something?

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    352

    Default

    To reference ddimgtooltip.js and ddimgtooltip.css

    Add the two files using ASSETS>NEW FILE and find each file and tick ALWAYS PUBLISH FILE.
    Then right click on your page and select LAYOUT HTML add choose the HEAD INNER icon at the top (2nd across from left) and add the following between the HEAD TAGS of your page.

    If a sub-page (i.e. not your home/index page):
    Code:
    <script type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.3.2/jquery.min.js"></script>
    <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="../html/ddimgtooltip.css" />
    <script type="text/javascript" src="../assets/ddimgtooltip.js">
    If home/index page:
    Code:
    <script type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.3.2/jquery.min.js"></script>
    <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="./html/ddimgtooltip.css" />
    <script type="text/javascript" src="./assets/ddimgtooltip.js">
    The only issue you may come across is the jquery. NOF will use this of it's own accord and you therefore you may not need to add it in as above

    To see if jquery is already used, local publish your site and right-click and View Source and see if
    Code:
    <script type="text/javascript" src="./assets/jquery.js">
    or
    Code:
    <script type="text/javascript" src="../assets/jquery.js">
    is already there.

    If it is already there remove:
    Code:
    <script type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.3.2/jquery.min.js"></script>
    Last edited by Technology Ideas; 05-12-2010 at 12:55 AM.

  8. #8
    Senior Member gotFusion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    www.gotHosting.biz
    Posts
    4,529

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RG7209 View Post
    oh, boy. Well, I haven't published the site yet cuz I'm still building it and when I do, it will replace my current site. OH WAIT,
    I can use my current site to try and figure it out! I can create an extra page just to try it. My current site is : http://twodogsandapig.com/index.html
    there's a link to a test page at the very bottom past my nav bar.
    So, where it says to download the 2 external files, where should I properly place them? I put them in one of the folders that I using for the new site, but should they be in a root directory or something?
    Set publish to "flat" and follow Andrew's explanation (except do not use any relative location notation or folder names as everything will be in the same folder)

    Publish settings details are found on this tutorial

    http://www.gotfusion.com/tutorials/tut.cfm?itemID=181

    You may need to use a different doctype but see if it works with the one Fusion writes for you before worrying about that.
    NetObjects Fusion Cloud Linux enabled Web Hosting, support + training starts at $14.95
    NetObjects Fusion web Hosting and support + ASP + PHP + ColdFusion + MySQL + MS SQL
    FREE NetObjects Fusion Support & training comes with all web hosting accounts
    NetObjects Fusion Web Hosting: http://www.gotHosting.biz

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    29

    Default

    thanks for breaking this down for me! I had to walk away for a moment. I'll be back to run thru these details.....

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    352

    Default

    Be careful of publishing "flat" (you don't have to do this for it to work) if you have any direct links in your website that you've hard-coded. If you do, you need to change those as well. If you publish flat add as follows:

    Code:
    <script type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.3.2/jquery.min.js"></script>
    <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="ddimgtooltip.css" />
    <script type="text/javascript" src="ddimgtooltip.js">
    Again, following the instructions from below regarding the jquery line.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •