Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: A couple of oddities in the same NOD file

  1. #1
    Senior Member Adendum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    London (UK) & Granada (Spain)
    Posts
    926

    Default A couple of oddities in the same NOD file

    Hi,

    1. Not sure if this first oddity is a "feature" or a bug?
    If you (a) lock an image so it can't be moved or changed in anyway, (b) then export the site as a template, (c) then create a new site from that template using a new name and folder why do the locked images all carry over to the assets folder BUT are not seen on the layout in design view?

    2. A template creation error that I don't understand.
    This is actually from the same site above AFTER I have corrected the so called missing images (unlock them, point them back to the file in assets folder and use the file already in assets folder!!). The export to template throws up 21 missing files in ...\AppData\Local\Temp\FSITtemp\Template\Assets\fi lenamesx21 and wont create the template. I tracked down the FSITTemp folder and they are all there and the said files are also all in the correct folders for the NOD. What's happening here I wonder?

    It's a 102 page site with half the pages on 4 different master borders and the other half all on a zeromargin border. I'm assuming I have some corruption in the NOD and I can't create a template (or can I?) for you guys to check for me.....so I'm kinda lost on this one. Have just re-optimised but no change of status.

    Any thoughts?


    EDIT: Update. I just deleted ALL the AWM references from every masterborder but (a) the Publish window is still showing an old (different name) menu file and (b) when I publish I get 24 errors (pointing to a publish profile that no longer exists) and it publishes the wrong named/old folder in the awmdata folder ; e.g; \Local Publish\awmdata\oldfolder and it's empty.
    Last edited by Adendum; 05-22-2010 at 12:07 AM. Reason: Deleted the 3rd oddity due to brain death when written! 2nd edit - update
    Paul - Aditerum Ltd and AllSortsOfStuff Ltd
    NOF11 (in Admin mode!); Vista Premium 64bit; AMD Phenom IIx4 945 Processor 3.00Ghz; 8.0Gb RAM
    Wouldn't it be great if there was only a single browser to worry about!!!

  2. #2
    Senior Member Adendum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    London (UK) & Granada (Spain)
    Posts
    926

    Default

    Still confused. Have re-optimised. Checked all 102 pages and there are no calls to an AWM component.

    The .js file seen in Publish view is (a) an old file name that I used for the test version of the site and (b) when I publish locally the NOD file is trying to include it from the older path name.

    See attached. So how do I track this down and eliminate the file?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	AWM error..jpg 
Views:	105 
Size:	18.2 KB 
ID:	147
    Paul - Aditerum Ltd and AllSortsOfStuff Ltd
    NOF11 (in Admin mode!); Vista Premium 64bit; AMD Phenom IIx4 945 Processor 3.00Ghz; 8.0Gb RAM
    Wouldn't it be great if there was only a single browser to worry about!!!

  3. #3
    Senior Member gotFusion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    www.gotHosting.biz
    Posts
    4,526

    Default

    Look in publish view > post publish components and see if the AWM component is checked.
    NetObjects Fusion Cloud Linux enabled Web Hosting, support + training starts at $14.95
    NetObjects Fusion web Hosting and support + ASP + PHP + ColdFusion + MySQL + MS SQL
    FREE NetObjects Fusion Support & training comes with all web hosting accounts
    NetObjects Fusion Web Hosting: http://www.gotHosting.biz

  4. #4
    Senior Member Adendum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    London (UK) & Granada (Spain)
    Posts
    926

    Default

    OK, how's this for weird?!?!?!

    I just exported sections of the site by master border type. So I created 4 templates each containing pages from just the relevant master border. All 4 templates add up to the entire site. And each template was created without a hitch!!! Any attempt to create a template using the "entire site" option fails.
    Paul - Aditerum Ltd and AllSortsOfStuff Ltd
    NOF11 (in Admin mode!); Vista Premium 64bit; AMD Phenom IIx4 945 Processor 3.00Ghz; 8.0Gb RAM
    Wouldn't it be great if there was only a single browser to worry about!!!

  5. #5
    Senior Member Adendum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    London (UK) & Granada (Spain)
    Posts
    926

    Default [ Resolved ] but still questions

    That was all very strange.

    I've fixed the site by exporting templates by master border and then creating a new site by importing the same templates. Most of the site was in good shape but these were the 'problems' that resulted:-

    1. Two pages appeared from a very early version of the site full of "Lorem Ipsum" copy, so they were day one pages and deleted on day two...and I'm on day 50 or more with this project.

    2. A handful of master border images were 'lost' and had to be re-set using the existing assets.

    3. Two images from a master border kept getting published to the root folder. So I had to re-set them as above.

    4. The erroneous AWM file had gone but the three new AWM files couldn't be found - even though they were there and showed up in the properties panel correctly. So I deleted all references, re-optimised and then re-compiled the AWM elements and brought them in again.

    That's roughly a day and a half of unnecessary (and unpaid) work and a lot or head scratching. NOF can be such a pain sometimes!!

    So are there any bright sparks out there that can identify the causes??
    Last edited by Adendum; 05-22-2010 at 03:30 PM. Reason: Spelling mistake
    Paul - Aditerum Ltd and AllSortsOfStuff Ltd
    NOF11 (in Admin mode!); Vista Premium 64bit; AMD Phenom IIx4 945 Processor 3.00Ghz; 8.0Gb RAM
    Wouldn't it be great if there was only a single browser to worry about!!!

  6. #6
    Allison Moore
    Guest

    Default Re: A couple of oddities in the same NOD file

    > 1. Two pages appeared from a very early version of the site full of
    > "Lorem Ipsum" copy, so they were day one pages and deleted on day
    > two...and I'm on day 50 or more with this project.


    The NOD database seems to retain some old data even after it's been
    deleted or updated, and that data can reappear under some circumstances.
    Since 2007, I've been dealing with a bug that may be related to this
    particular issue.

    We have twenty different "callout" styles that use an image as
    background for the text box, all handled by custom text styles. These
    images are stored in the Assets folder. Whenever I reoptimize, I get
    duplicate records for these images in Assets view. One record points to
    the current Assets folder, but shows the image as not in use. The other
    record points to the previous version's Assets folder and shows the
    image as in use. For each image, I have to update the location on each
    In Use record and delete the other. If I don't do it, NOF will not find
    the image when I preview or publish.

    Similarly, when I start a new iteration of the site from the previous
    version's template, I have to reoptimize to expose the duplicate Asset
    records, then correct them. If I don't, NOF will not find the images
    even though Assets view shows the correct location.

    > 3. Two images from a master border kept getting published to the root
    > folder. So I had to re-set them as above.


    The images mentioned above publish to both the Assets folder and the
    root folder. I've never been able to resolve that. They don't appear in
    Publish view, so there's nothing to move. Similarly, I get duplicates of
    my AWM menus each time I publish.

    Allison


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •