Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Text Fields causing Page layout changes

  1. #1

    Default Text Fields causing Page layout changes

    Franko helped me, in another thread...thanks!...to place some "Add to Cart" buttons to my store.

    He told me how to create small text boxes, and then insert the Button html code into them.
    I lock the height of the box as he instructed (although I still don't understand what that does).
    The Add to Cart buttons appear on the Page Preview (Publish) view and all is good!

    I was also told to size the box to the button size (120x33)...which is difficult but I have them close.
    (I have since tried making them smaller, I guess they resize themselves, but the buttons are still visible and correct.)

    My problem is...
    wherever the text field/button is placed, it will shift everything after it (on the page) down a bit.
    Not a lot, but enough to be obvious and it stretches out the page with every button placement.


    I also have to be careful about where a text field is placed, because if the next page item is on the same level (horizontally)
    it will be shift to the right, or way down the page!

    I have attached images of the page to illustrate the spacing issue.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	PAGE DESIGN VIEW 1A.jpg 
Views:	625 
Size:	170.8 KB 
ID:	2807Click image for larger version. 

Name:	PAGE PUBLISH VIEW 1A.jpg 
Views:	628 
Size:	97.3 KB 
ID:	2808


    My page is set up "Dynamic page Layout - all browsers".
    It is the best of all options, where the other settings give wild page changes. (Regular Tables or Fixed Page Layout).
    I have tried these other settings, and looked for other ways to eliminate this problem.

    How do I stop things from shifting like this?
    The only code I understand is ...okay, I don't understand code. Can we talk?

  2. #2
    Senior Member chuckj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    www.beyondfusion.com - Florida
    Posts
    1,302

    Default

    Publish your page locally and see how it looks.

    Page Preview isn't always accurate.
    Chuck Joslin
    www.BeyondFusion.com
    PHP & MySQL development with Fusion
    Fusion support for AllWebMenus (Likno) Contact me for custom AWM menus for your sites.
    Tutorials and Forums

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chuckj View Post
    Publish your page locally and see how it looks.

    Page Preview isn't always accurate.
    Good point...I hadn't actually tried that.

    Unfortunately, its the same effect...same problem.
    Added spacing after each Button.
    The only code I understand is ...okay, I don't understand code. Can we talk?

  4. #4
    Senior Member chuckj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    www.beyondfusion.com - Florida
    Posts
    1,302

    Default

    Can you post the code for one of your buttons? Or better yet, publish a page to your web server and provide the URL.
    Chuck Joslin
    www.BeyondFusion.com
    PHP & MySQL development with Fusion
    Fusion support for AllWebMenus (Likno) Contact me for custom AWM menus for your sites.
    Tutorials and Forums

  5. #5

    Default

    I'm not ready to publish any pages yet...I don't want to update just one page.
    I want to get the entire site updated first, and then replace the store completely.
    because I am switching the order and payment system for the entire store.
    Am I explaining that properly?

    As far as the buttons are concerned, its the code that Paypal gives you to create an "Add to Cart" button for each item that I log there.
    Here is the html for one of the buttons...

    Code as I get it from Paypal:
    <form target="paypal" action="https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr" method="post">
    <input type="hidden" name="cmd" value="_s-xclick">
    <input type="hidden" name="hosted_button_id" value="EK2L6S9FKT6EY">
    <input type="image" src="https://www.paypalobjects.com/en_US/i/btn/btn_cart_LG.gif" border="0" name="submit" alt="PayPal - The safer, easier way to pay online!">
    <img alt="" border="0" src="https://www.paypalobjects.com/en_US/i/scr/pixel.gif" width="1" height="1">
    </form>

    Code how it looks after its inserted into the text box (which I placed for the Button):
    <p><form target="paypal" action="https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr" method="post">
    <input type="hidden" name="cmd" value="_s-xclick">
    <input type="hidden" name="hosted_button_id" value="EK2L6S9FKT6EY">
    <input type="image" src="https://www.paypalobjects.com/en_US/i/btn/btn_cart_LG.gif" border="0" name="submit" alt="PayPal - The safer, easier way to pay online!">
    <img alt="" border="0" src="https://www.paypalobjects.com/en_US/i/scr/pixel.gif" width="1" height="1">
    </form>&nbsp;</p>
    Last edited by airdave; 09-11-2018 at 11:24 PM.
    The only code I understand is ...okay, I don't understand code. Can we talk?

  6. #6
    Senior Member chuckj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    www.beyondfusion.com - Florida
    Posts
    1,302

    Default

    I haven't done a site with PayPal buttons in a while.

    I looked at the last one I did and it was set to publish as HTML5 and have no additional space like you're getting.

    I changed to Dynamic temporarily as a test and the space below issue arose.

    This is in Fusion 2015, of course.
    Chuck Joslin
    www.BeyondFusion.com
    PHP & MySQL development with Fusion
    Fusion support for AllWebMenus (Likno) Contact me for custom AWM menus for your sites.
    Tutorials and Forums

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chuckj View Post
    I haven't done a site with PayPal buttons in a while.
    I looked at the last one I did and it was set to publish as HTML5 and have no additional space like you're getting.
    I changed to Dynamic temporarily as a test and the space below issue arose.
    This is in Fusion 2015, of course.
    Well Dynamic gives me the least issue....page layout stays where it should, just adds spacing as I've shown.
    I can control where the spacing appears by moving things around a little bit.

    I don't have the time right now to learn the new NoF or rebuild the entire site.
    So, for now I have to work in NoF10
    The only code I understand is ...okay, I don't understand code. Can we talk?

  8. #8

    Default

    Dragging this topic out again...
    still trying to find a solution to this problem.

    To recap...I use paypal buttons in my store (code created at paypal...and I use a very small text box to put the button code on the page)
    This is what a page looks like during design: http://www.mediafire.com/view/b8q0vn...%2529.jpg/file
    (note the text box/paypal buttons and the spacing between objects - columns and rows)

    but when I preview or publish, it does this: http://www.mediafire.com/view/szi2ym...%2529.jpg/file
    (the area below the text boxes/butons has increased, aswell as the space between object columns)

    The Paypal buttons apparently push things down and to the right (of the page)
    creating a massive space below and to the right of each button and product.

    I am using Dynamic page layout because its the only layout where "center in browser" is available.
    And I want the page to appear centered.
    If I switch over to Fixed layout, the spacing issue (caused by the buttons) disappears...
    but then the page won't appear centered in the browser when published.
    In fact, it positions the page to the left margin when published (and for some unknown reason, to the far right margin when in preview mode!)

    I'd love to use Fixed page layout to solve the button spacing issue, but how can I get the page to center in your browser?
    Or, does anyone have any new ideas on how to deal with the paypal button issues (thats causing this spacing problem)??
    The only code I understand is ...okay, I don't understand code. Can we talk?

  9. #9
    Senior Member gotFusion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    www.gotHosting.biz
    Posts
    4,529

    Default

    Have you tried using a single cell table set as below instead of a text box? Place your content inside BEFORE making these settings, otherwise the table will collapse and it is a bear clicking inside that little dot it turns into. You can adjust padding as needed

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	colapsable-table.gif 
Views:	453 
Size:	31.0 KB 
ID:	2844
    NetObjects Fusion Cloud Linux enabled Web Hosting, support + training starts at $14.95
    NetObjects Fusion web Hosting and support + ASP + PHP + ColdFusion + MySQL + MS SQL
    FREE NetObjects Fusion Support & training comes with all web hosting accounts
    NetObjects Fusion Web Hosting: http://www.gotHosting.biz

  10. #10

    Default

    Thanks gotfusion...I tried that...although I don't understand tables, cells, etc
    How do I put in the code for the button?
    With the text box, I press ctrl+T after drawing a text box of any shape or size, and enter the button code.
    but with this "table" that doesn't work...I tried putting the html into before tag, inside tag and after tag.
    After tag is the only way a chevron doesn't appear after the table (in preview).

    So, at first the pixel dimensions of the table were too small, it gave me a warning symbol and did weird things in the preview.
    I enlarged it to roughly the dimensions of the paypal button (I don't know, I guessed) and then it didnt give me that warning..

    Once I enlarged the pixel dimensions, the paypal button appears by itself on the page.
    But it still generates a large blank area around the button, which pushes adjoining things away leaving big spaces again.
    So, its the same end result.

    I downloaded and installed Corel Web Creator yesterday, which is basically a newer version of NetObjects.
    First I had trouble with Java.
    I already have java on my 64 bit system.
    But Web Creator said I needed to install 32 bit java before the program would function..
    Why, I don't know.

    So, I went to java, and it will only install 64 bit...which I let it do.
    Then when I ran WebCreator it worked...but when I tried to preview a webpage, I got asked to activate or run something to do with java.
    I rushed and didnt read it all...and I clicked NO without thinking.
    Now it will preview a page...but none of the images appear. They all show broken.
    Its a working page with connected files, so I know its good...I assume this is java related?
    I checked my browsers, java is turned on and the option doesn't appear again.

    If I (local)publish, I can see the page fine with all images.
    But local publish is no good either, since it kills all links...I'm stuck on one page.
    Even though I publish the entire site, I can't navigate anywhere.
    Is this another java thing?
    or is this software just no good?

    I like it, because it has html 5 dynamic and other page setting options that my NoF10 doesnt...and the paypal button issue isn't there if i choose the html 5 dynamic setting!
    The only code I understand is ...okay, I don't understand code. Can we talk?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •